Home » Cricket Home » News » India vs Australia: India Win Toss And Opt to Bowl in Third and Final T20I

India vs Australia: India Win Toss And Opt to Bowl in Third and Final T20I

India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl first Tuesday as he bids for a sweep of the three-game Twenty20 international series against Australia.

India vs Australia: India Win Toss And Opt to Bowl in Third and Final T20I

SYDNEY: Australia won the third Twenty20 international by 12 runs in front of 30,000-plus fans at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Tuesday to prevent India from claiming a series sweep.

Matthew Wade scored 80 from 53 balls and shared a 90-run fourth-wicket partnership with Glenn Maxwell (54) as Australia tallied 186-5 after being sent in to bat.

Australias spin bowlers Maxwell (1-20), Mitch Swepson (3-23) and Adam Zampa (1-21) combined for the first five Indian wickets before paceman AJ Tye removed Virat Kohli for 85 in the penultimate over to all but end Indias chase.

India finished 174-7 from 20 overs. India won the first game by 11 runs in Canberra and the second by 6 wickers in Sydney and finished with a 2-1 victory in the T20 series. Australia won the preceding one-day international series 2-1. The teams next meet in a four-match test series starting Dec. 17.

Australia’s innings was eventful and kept the umpires on their toes, with Kohli denied a review for signaling too late on a not out decision against Wade that would have been overturned by the TV umpire if the challenge had been made within the required 15 seconds.

Wade, who was hit on the pads, told the on-field umpire that the replay was already being shown on the stadium screen when Kohli confirmed he wanted to refer the decision, and the TV umpire agreed. Broadcaster Foxtel said India took 17 seconds to ask for the review.

Maxwell also had his share of attention. He was dropped twice, saw off two DRS challenges after unsuccessful appeals from India for caught-behind, and the Australian allrounder got the benefit of further intervention from the TV umpire after he’d started walking off when he thought he was caught out only to be called back when replays showed wrist spinner Yuzvendra Chahal had over-stepped and was called for a no-ball.


More AP sports: https://apnews.com/apf-sports and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

Team Rankings

1 New Zealand 3198 118
2 Australia 3028 116
3 India 3085 114
4 England 4326 106
5 South Africa 2499 96
FULL Ranking
1 England 5405 123
2 India 6102 117
3 New Zealand 3716 116
4 Australia 4344 111
5 South Africa 3345 108
FULL Ranking
1 England 6877 275
2 Australia 6800 272
3 India 10186 268
4 Pakistan 7516 259
5 South Africa 5047 252
FULL Ranking