CricketNext GET APP

South Africa vs India: 10 Reasons to Watch the Fourth ODI in Johannesburg

Cricketnext | Updated: February 9, 2018, 6:53 PM IST
South Africa vs India: 10 Reasons to Watch the Fourth ODI in Johannesburg

New Delhi: The Indian team is riding high on confidence after winning the first three ODIs against South Africa. Now the Men in Blue have a golden opportunity to seal the series, come the fourth ODI in Johannesburg.

If India manage to win the fourth ODI, it will be their first series win against the Proteas at home. The closest they came to a series win was in 2010-11, when under Mahendra Singh Dhoni, they shot into a 2-1 lead only to lose the five-match series 3-2.

Here are the 10 reasons to watch the fourth ODI between India and South Africa:

• 438/9: The highest ever run chase in an ODI occurred at The Wanderers in 2006. After being set a target of 435 runs by Australia, the Proteas won by one wicket.

• 3: Instances of a team scoring 400+ at The Wanderers, Johannesburg — the most at any single venue in ODIs.

• 0: India have never won 5 ODIs in-a-row against South Africa: They are currently on a 4-match winning-streak.

• 16: Number of bilateral ODI series consisting of a minimum 5 matches, that South Africa have won on the trot.

• 2002: The last time a team prevailed over SA in SA in a bilateral series of 5 or more matches. Australia was the eventual winner

• 5: No of wickets needed for Axar Patel to complete 50 ODI wickets. The left-arm spinner has 45 wickets from 38 games.

• 5: MS Dhoni requires 5 catches to complete 300 catches in ODIs. He has 295 catches in 315 games.

• 88: MS Dhoni needs 88 runs to complete 10,000 ODI runs. He will be the 12th ODI player to reach this landmark and the 4th Indian after Sachin Tendulkar (18,426), Sourav Ganguly (11,363) & Rahul Dravid (10,889).

• 3: More wickets for Imran Tahir to become the first South Africa spinner to take 50 ODI wickets at home.

• 54: International centuries for Hashim Amla. If he scores one more, he will be the joint- 5th-most prolific century-maker in international cricket behind Tendulkar (100), Ponting (71), Sangakkara (63) & Kallis (62) & Virat Kohli (55).

Teams (from):

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.

South Africa: Aiden Markram (capt), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khayelihle Zondo, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), AB de Villiers.

Match starts at: 4:30pm IST.

First Published: February 9, 2018, 4:10 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 South Africa 4280 110
3 New Zealand 3213 107
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking