CricketNext GET APP

Indian Team For Sri Lanka Test: Rohit Sharma Included in Place of Karun Nair

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: July 10, 2017, 8:46 AM IST
Indian Team For Sri Lanka Test: Rohit Sharma Included in Place of Karun Nair

New Delhi: Rohit Sharma has made a comeback into the longest format of the game as he has been included in the 16-member Test squad for the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Sunday. Meanwhile, middle-order star Karun Nair has been dropped for the series.

India is scheduled to play 3 Tests, 5 ODIs and one T20I against Sri Lanka during this series, starting for July 26. The three Test matches will be played at Galle, Colombo and Kandy.

Rohit missed India's last Test series against Australia due to injury but he makes a return into the Test squad after proving his fitness and performing really well in the Champions Trophy 2017 in June.

Meanwhile, as for Nair, he has been axed after a string of underwhelming performances since slamming that historic triple century against England in Chennai. Since then, Karun's scores have read 26, 0, 23 and 5 in the three Test matches that he played for India against Australia.

Also Read: Karun Nair to be Dropped for Test Series Against Sri Lanka?

BCCI had earlier given a hint that Nair won't be part of the team as he was named in the India ‘A’ squad for the tri-series against Australia ‘A’ and South Africa ‘A’ in South Africa, whose dates coincide with the Sri Lankan tour.

More importantly, Nair was also named skipper of the team which will play two four-day games against South Africa ‘A’. While the first game will be played from August 12 to 15, the second one will be played from August 19-22.

Meanwhile, KL Rahul is also back in the squad after missing the Champions Trophy due to a shoulder injury.


Virat Kohli (Captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, W Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, M Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.

First Published: July 9, 2017, 9:53 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 South Africa 4280 110
3 England 5310 108
4 New Zealand 3213 107
5 Australia 4143 101
FULL Ranking