CricketNext GET APP

India vs West Indies 2017: Pant & Kuldeep Included, Bumrah & Rohit Rested

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: June 21, 2017, 1:12 PM IST
India vs West Indies 2017: Pant & Kuldeep Included, Bumrah & Rohit Rested

Rishabh Pant (Getty Images)

New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming tour of West Indies which is scheduled to begin from 23rd June.

Youngster Rishabh Pant has been roped into the squad alongside promising Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav. Both had a great Indian Premier League campaign in 2017 and the call ups might be a result of those performances.

While Pant scored 366 runs from 14 games at a strike rate of 165.61, Kuldeep grabbed 12 wickets in 12 matches.

However, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah have not been included in the 15. It is probably because both have had a few injury problems and the board feels they need rest.
Hardik Pandya will once again be the only all-rounder in the side. While Rishabh Pant is expected to open the innings alongside Dhawan.

If not Pant, India also have the option of playing Ajinkya Rahane at the top.
The members of the team management will stay unchanged for the tour. However, there’s still no clarity if Anil Kumble will be the coach. It is believed the board is still awaiting confirmation from Kumble over his availability for the tour.

“The administrative staff of the Indian Cricket Team will continue for the tour of West Indies,” the BCCI said in a statement.

The Indian team are presently in England playing in the Champions Trophy. The tournament will end on the 18th and they will fly to the West Indies after it.

Squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav and Dinesh Karthik.

June 23: 1st ODI, Queen’s Park Oval
June 25: 2nd ODI, Queen’s Park Oval
June 30: 3rd ODI, SVRS
July 2: 4th ODI, SVRS
July 6: 5th ODI, Sabina Park
July 9: 1st T20I, Sabina Park

Also Watch

First Published: June 15, 2017, 4:25 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 4484 115
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
FULL Ranking