CricketNext GET APP

IPL 2017: Nitish Rana, Jasprit Bumrah Shine as Mumbai Indians Edge Past Sunrisers Hyderabad

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: April 13, 2017, 12:22 AM IST
IPL 2017: Nitish Rana, Jasprit Bumrah Shine as Mumbai Indians Edge Past Sunrisers Hyderabad

Image Credits: BCCI


Mumbai: Sunrisers Hyderabad were dealt with their first defeat of the season as Mumbai Indians thrashed David Warner's side by 4 wickets at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

Nitish Rana (45) and Jasprit Bumrah (3/24) were the stars of the day for Mumbai as they won their second game on the trot at home.

Chasing a modest target, Mumbai openers Jos Buttler and Parthiv Patel gave the team a flying start and started hitting boundaries from the word go.

Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad: As It Happened

In just three overs, Mumbai's score read 28/0, with Buttler and Parthiv dealing only in fours and sixes. But the onslaught was brought to an end by Ashish Nehra, who dismissed Buttler for 14 to give Hyderabad the breakthrough.

However, there was no stopping Patel who bludgeoned two fours in the same Nehra over to ease some pressure on Mumbai.

Afghan spinner Rashid Khan once again managed to snare away a wicket in his first over of the innings as he did in his previous two matches in the tournament. This time, Rohit Sharma fell prey to his googly, as the Mumbai skipper went back into the hut for just 4 runs.

While wickets kept falling at one end, Parthiv held his own on the other. The southpaw also completed 2000 runs in the IPL and became only the seventh wicket-keeper to reach this milestone.

Mustafizur Rahman wasn't spared either by Parthiv and Nitish Rana, as the Bangladesh pacer went for 19 runs in his first over itself, which was also his most expensive over in the tournament till date.

Deepak Hooda finally broke the 38-run partnership by dismissing Parthiv for 39.

Rana was joined at the crease by big-hitter Kieron Pollard who hit Mustafizur for a huge six over deep mid-wicket to announce his arrival. But just as Mumbai were starting to take control of the match, Bhuvneshvar Kumar dealt a telling blow by dismissing Pollard for just 11 runs.

Incoming batsman Krunal Pandya was at his destructive best and tilted the match in Mumbai's favour in the blink of an eye. A six off the bowling of Rashid Khan was followed by a six and a four in the next Nehra over.

But it was the 17th over that really ended the contest as Krunal hit 15 runs to get Mumbai close to their target. In trying to finish the game early, Krunal was dismissed by Bhuvi for 37 (20 balls) but he had done his job by then. It the end, Mumbai crossed the line with 8 ball to spare.

Earlier, Sunrisers Hyderabad openers David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan missed on their respective half-centuries by a whisker, as Mumbai Indians restricted SRH to 158/8 in their designated 20 overs.

Rohit Sharma sent experienced India spinner Harbhajan Singh to open the bowling and the turbanator set the tone for the innings from the first over itself.

After the initial two overs, Warner broke the shackles in the third over by hitting two consecutive fours off the bowling of Harbhajan to make his intentions clear. Couple of overs later, Warner blasted two fours in one Lasith Malinga over as well to pile on the pressure on the hosts.

Dhawan joined the party and hit 14 runs off one Mitchell McClenaghan over. A catch dropped by Hardik Pandya didn't help Mumbai's cause either as in-form batsman Dhawan was given another chance when he was batting on 21.

Warner continued his onslaught on the other end and he spared none of the bowlers, as McClenaghan, Pandya and Harbhajan all went for runs. However, Bhajji finally broke the 81-run opening partnership by removing Warner for 49.

Deepak Hooda didn't last long either as he became Harbhajan's second scalp of the day for just 9 runs.

Dhawan too couldn't complete his half-century as he was castled by McClenaghan for 48 runs. Yuvraj Singh too followed suit as he was clean bowled by compatriot Hardik Pandya for 5.

Ben Cutting played a good cameo down the order by scoring 20 runs off 10 deliveries. But his innings was cut-short by Jasprit Bumrah in the 18th over.

Bumrah picked two more wickets in the final over as Sunrisers Hyderabad could only muster 158 runs.

First Published: April 12, 2017, 11:56 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 South Africa 4280 110
3 New Zealand 3213 107
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking