CricketNext GET APP
Indian T20 Carnival Associate Sponsors

IPL 2017: Kane Williamson, Shikhar Dhawan Help Sunrisers Hyderabad Trump Delhi Daredevils

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: April 20, 2017, 12:09 AM IST
IPL 2017: Kane Williamson, Shikhar Dhawan Help Sunrisers Hyderabad  Trump Delhi Daredevils

BCCI Photo

Hyderabad: Sunrisers Hyderabad continued their good home run this season as they beat Delhi Daredevils by 15 runs to climb to the second spot on the points table, equal on points with leaders Kolkata Knight Riders.

Hyderabad's triumph was fashioned by a 136-run second wicket stand between Kane Williamson (89) and Shikhar Dhawan (70), which helped the hosts post 191 run sonthe board.

Delhi needed a solid performance from their top order if they had to chase the total down, but English opener Sam Billings (13) was dismissed early. Sanju Samson aand Karun Nair put the chase back on track with a 71-run stand.

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi Daredevils - AS IT HAPPENED

The partnership was broken in an unfortunate manner as Nair was run out for 33 off 23 deliveries. Rishabh Pant was dismissed for a duck in the same over by Yuvraj Singh as the Daredevils slumped to 86/3 in 10 overs.

Sanju Samson was the next to go, dismissed for 42 off 33 deliveries by the impressive Mohammed Siraj. With the required rate climbing, it was a bit of a surprise to see Angelo Mathews come out to bat ahead of the big hitting Chris Morris.

The decision turned out to be the turning point of the match as Mathews found it difficult to get the big shots going. Shreyas Iyer kept Delhi in the hunt with some big shots from time to time, but Mathews' inability to get quick runs increased the pressure on Delhi.

IPL 2017: SRH vs DD - Turning Point - Mathews Over Morris

The equation became almost impossible as Delhi needed 24 runs to win off the last over. Siddarth Kaul was handed the ball by Warner again and he didn't disappoint for the second match in a row.

Mathews was dismissed for 31 while Iyer remained unbeaten on 50 off 31 deliveries, as Delhi lost the match by 31 runs.

Earlier, David Warner's decision to win the toss and bat first seemed to have backfired for the hosts as the skipper himself was dismissed for just four runs in the second over of the innings.

That brought Kane Williamson to the middle, the Kiwi playing his first match of the season, and he along with Shikhar Dhawan put the innings back on track. It was Dhawan who took the attack to the Delhi bowlers initially, playing some handsome strokes to get a couple of boundaries.

Williamson broke the shackles in the seventh over, hitting two massive sixes off the last two deliveries of Angelo Mathews' over. The duo mixed caution with aggression and took the Sunrisers past the 100-run mark in the 13th over. Williamson had by then brought up his half-century in just 33 balls.

Amit Mishra bowled the 14th over, which yielded three massive sixes, one came from the blade of Shikhar Dhawan, while Williamson hit the other two. The elegant right-hander caught the Delhi bowlers off-guard with his attacking batting as he belted Zaheer Khan and company to all parts of the park.

By the time Chris Morris dismissed him on the first delivery of the 17th over, Williamson had scored 89 runs off 51 deliveries. Shikhar Dhawan took over the initiative to score quick runs after Williamson's dismissal and managed to get a few meaty blows out.

Dhawan was dismissed by Morris for 70 off 50 balls, but by then the job was done. Deepak Hooda and Moises Henriques managed to score 17 runs off Zaheer Khan's last over to push the total to 191.

First Published: April 20, 2017, 12:09 AM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 5154 117
3 New Zealand 3886 102
4 Australia 4599 102
5 England 5029 97
FULL Ranking