IPL 2018: Andrew Tye On Course to Become First Australian to Win Purple Cap

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: May 17, 2018, 12:58 PM IST
IPL 2018: Andrew Tye On Course to Become First Australian to Win Purple Cap

Andrew Tye (BCCI Image)

Kings XI Punjab might have lost their way in the IPL after the team lost its fourth consecutive match in a row, after it suffered a 3-run loss to Mumbai Indians on Wednesday.

However, individual performances have given Punjab fans reasons to cheer with KL Rahul being in sensational form with the bat. With the ball, Australian Andrew Tye has been on a different level as compared to other Kings XI Punjab bowlers and the paceman currently leads the charts for highest wickets in IPL and is on course to become the first Aussie to win the purple cap.

He has 24 wickets to his name in 13 matches, six ahead of second-placed Hardik Pandya.

1. 24 – AJ Tye (KXIP)
2. 18 – H Pandya (MI)
3. 17 – U Yadav (RCB)
4. 16 – Bumrah (MI)
5. 15 – Narine (KKR)/ Boult (DD)

He registered his third 4-for in the last 4 matches after yet another impressive outing.

• 4/34 v RR
• 4/41 v KKR
• 0/33 v RCB
• 4/16 v MI

Unfortunately for him, Kings XI Punjab have lost all these matches so far.

Tye has already set a new record for most wickets by a KXIP bowler in a single IPL edition

In the process, he became the fourth-highest wicket-taker in the league stage of an IPL edition and another 4-for will see him break Malinga's record of most wickets in the league stage.

1. 27 – L Malinga, 2011
2. 26 – J Faulkner, 2013
3. 25 – B Kumar, 2017/M Morkel, 2012/DJ Bravo, 2013
4. 24 – AJ Tye, 2018
5. 23 – V Kumar, 2013

So far, only 4 foreigners have won the Purple cap - Sohail Tanvir, Malinga, Bravo (twice) and Morne Morkel.

Also Watch

First Published: May 17, 2018, 9:12 AM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3634 125
2 South Africa 3589 112
3 Australia 3499 106
4 New Zealand 2354 102
5 England 3772 97
FULL Ranking