.wrapper{max-width:1280px; margin:0 auto; position:relative;} .desktop-scard .scbox {width:302px;}

    IPL 2018: Andrew Tye On Course to Become First Australian to Win Purple Cap

    Cricketnext Staff | Updated: May 17, 2018, 12:58 PM IST
    IPL 2018: Andrew Tye On Course to Become First Australian to Win Purple Cap

    Andrew Tye (BCCI Image)

    Kings XI Punjab might have lost their way in the IPL after the team lost its fourth consecutive match in a row, after it suffered a 3-run loss to Mumbai Indians on Wednesday.

    However, individual performances have given Punjab fans reasons to cheer with KL Rahul being in sensational form with the bat. With the ball, Australian Andrew Tye has been on a different level as compared to other Kings XI Punjab bowlers and the paceman currently leads the charts for highest wickets in IPL and is on course to become the first Aussie to win the purple cap.

    He has 24 wickets to his name in 13 matches, six ahead of second-placed Hardik Pandya.

    1. 24 – AJ Tye (KXIP)
    2. 18 – H Pandya (MI)
    3. 17 – U Yadav (RCB)
    4. 16 – Bumrah (MI)
    5. 15 – Narine (KKR)/ Boult (DD)

    He registered his third 4-for in the last 4 matches after yet another impressive outing.

    • 4/34 v RR
    • 4/41 v KKR
    • 0/33 v RCB
    • 4/16 v MI

    Unfortunately for him, Kings XI Punjab have lost all these matches so far.

    Tye has already set a new record for most wickets by a KXIP bowler in a single IPL edition

    In the process, he became the fourth-highest wicket-taker in the league stage of an IPL edition and another 4-for will see him break Malinga's record of most wickets in the league stage.

    1. 27 – L Malinga, 2011
    2. 26 – J Faulkner, 2013
    3. 25 – B Kumar, 2017/M Morkel, 2012/DJ Bravo, 2013
    4. 24 – AJ Tye, 2018
    5. 23 – V Kumar, 2013

    So far, only 4 foreigners have won the Purple cap - Sohail Tanvir, Malinga, Bravo (twice) and Morne Morkel.

    First Published: May 17, 2018, 9:12 AM IST

    Also Watch

    Live TV

    Team Rankings

    1 India 5007 116
    2 South Africa 4280 110
    3 England 5310 108
    4 New Zealand 3213 107
    5 Australia 4143 101
    FULL Ranking