Duminy, Cummins & Mustafizur Among Ten Players Released by Mumbai Indians

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: November 15, 2018, 4:27 PM IST
Duminy, Cummins & Mustafizur Among Ten Players Released by Mumbai Indians


Mumbai Indians have released Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman and JP Duminy ahead of the upcoming IPL 2019 auction, the team announced on Thursday. The franchise in a media release stated that they have let go of 10 players, among which include one capped, five uncapped and 4 international players.

Unsurprisingly, Rohit Sharma, under which the franchise has won three titles, will continue to lead the side. Under the Indian opener’s leadership, the Mumbai franchise has won three IPL titles – 2013, 2015 and 2017.

They have retained 18 players in their squad, including the Pandya brothers - Krunal and Hardik, the frontline pacer Jasprit Bumrah, teenage leg-spinner Mayank Markande and upcoming wicketkeeper Ishan Kishan.

The franchise continues to put their faith in all-rounder Kieron Pollard and have kept hold of Ben Cutting as well. Opener Evin Lewis, who had a decent maiden season also retained his contract, along with New Zealand pacer bowling pair of Mitchell McClenaghan and Adam Milne.

Australia’s T20 specialist Jason Behrendorff has also been retained by the franchise after the left-arm quick was recalled to the national side to face the Proteas.

Among the other players released include Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon. UP pacer Mohsin Khan and Kerala’s MD Nidheesh.

Retained players: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Quinton de Kock, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff.

Released players: Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya.
First Published: November 15, 2018, 4:14 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking