starts in
days hours mins

IPL 2019 | Warner, Bairstow Run Bangalore Ragged in Record Hyderabad Win

Cricketnext Staff |March 31, 2019, 8:17 PM IST
IPL 2019 | Warner, Bairstow Run Bangalore Ragged in Record Hyderabad Win

If Jonny Bairstow doesn't get you, David Warner will. If David Warner doesn't get you, Jonny Bairstow will. But, what if the two decide to join arms and clothesline you to the ground? That's exactly what happened at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium where the Sunrisers Hyderabad duo decimated Royal Challengers Bangalore on Sunday (March 31).

Having added 118 and 110 in their first two encounters, the Ashes foes went way further, adding 185 runs for the opening wicket - highest in the history of the competition. Both Warner and Bairstow did not spare anyone and ripped apart Bangalore's bowling attack with some stunning display of shots. While Bairstow smoked 114 in just 56 deliveries, Warner smashed an unbeaten 55-ball 100 to help Hyderabad thrash Bangalore by 118 runs.

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, who are the only other batsmen to hit centuries in the same game in IPL (in 2016), could do nothing but watch Warner and Bairstow take out their bowlers one by one.

Bairstow was so good that he even outscored Warner with utmost ease during his stay in the middle. The association was not just about fours and sixes as the two ran superbly between the wickets to further frustrate the visitors. After Hyderabad amassed 231 for 2 in their 20 overs, Mohammad Nabi (4 for 11) added insult to injury as Bangalore were bundled out for 113.

Bairstow looked in the mood from the word go, commencing his innings with a couple of fours in the very first over. Warner was no different as the Australian welcomed Umesh Yadav with a six down the ground, and from there on, the two never stopped.

The likes of Umesh and Mohammed Siraj were inconsistent with their line and length and the two paid for it heavily. There was not a single part of the ground, or a single bowler, that didn't suffer the wrath of Warner and Bairstow's hitting. The 16-year-old spinner from Bengal, Prayas Ray Barman started well conceding only six runs in his first over, before reality struck him.

The leg-spinner was tonked for 6, 4 and 4 in his next over and his luck didn't change much in the last two overs as he finished with figures of 0 for 56. Kohli used all his resources but the mood in which Warner and Bairstow were nothing seemed to be working.

Bairstow completed his century in the 16th over but continued the attack for few more deliveries before finally getting caught at backward point off the bowling of Yuzvendra Chahal (1 for 44). Bairstow's innings was studded with 12 fours and seven sixes.

Having taken a backseat till then, Warner came to his own after Bairstow's departure and got to his fourth IPL century in the final over. We can debate all night whose innings was more superior, but when it came to the celebration, Warner's was way more stylish and emotional and one could easily understand what this knock meant to him. In all, he slammed five fours and as many sixes in his innings.

Things got worse for the visiting side when Nabi, playing his first game of the season, dismissed Bangalore openers Parthiv Patel (11) and Shimron Hetmyer (9) in the space of two deliveries. The offspinner then also got rid of de Villiers (1) and Shivam Dube to break Bangalore's back.

However, it was Sandeep Sharma who got the big wicket of Kohli, having him caught at covers for 3. The right-arm medium pacer has now dismissed Kohli six times in IPL - joint most with Ashish Nehra. Having been reduced to 35 for 6, Colin de Grandhomme and Prayas put on a 51-run partnership to save their team from some embarrassment.

De Grandhomme played a couple of good shots before being run out for 37. Apart from Nabi, Sandeep picked up two wickets, while there were also three run outs, rubbing salt in Bangalore's wound.

Related stories

Snapshot: Warner, Bairstow Demolish RCB
Cricketnext Staff | March 31, 2019, 7:58 PM IST

Snapshot: Warner, Bairstow Demolish RCB

Also Watch

Cricket World Cup Points Table

9 7 1 1 15 +0.80
9 7 2 0 14 +0.86
9 6 3 0 12 +1.15
9 5 3 1 11 +0.17
9 5 3 1 11 -0.43
9 3 4 2 8 -0.91
9 3 5 1 7 -0.03
9 3 5 1 7 -0.41
9 2 6 1 5 -0.22
9 0 9 0 0 -1.32

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6420 123
2 India 6807 122
3 New Zealand 4763 113
4 Australia 5470 112
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 Australia 5471 261
5 India 7273 260
see more