Home » Cricket Home » News » IPL 2020: Rohit Sharma Becomes Third Indian Batsman to Score 5000 IPL Runs

IPL 2020: Rohit Sharma Becomes Third Indian Batsman to Score 5000 IPL Runs

Rohit Sharma plays a shot. (Image: IPL/BCCI)

Rohit Sharma plays a shot. (Image: IPL/BCCI)

Mumbai Indians captain and star Indian opener Rohit Sharma becomes the third Indian batsman to score 5000 IPL runs.

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma has become the third Indian batsman, also the third batsman overall after Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina to score 5000 runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

The 33-year-old achieved this feat when he hit Mohammed Shami for a four between cover-point and cover in the second over the match against Kings XI Punjab at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.


Rohit is currently placed at the third position in the list of highest run-scorers with 5068 runs behind Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina, who hold the first and the second position respectively. Kohli has scored 5430 runs in 180 matches at an average of 37.19. Raina, on the other hand, has scored 5368 runs in 193 games at an average of 33.34.


Soon after Rohit completed 5000 IPL runs, Raina took to Twitter and wished his former India teammate.

“Heartiest congratulations my brother on achieving another great milestone of completing 5k runs @ImRo45 . Proud of you, more power to you!," he wrote on Twitter.

Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner is fourth on the list 4793 runs in 129 matches.

ALSO READ | IPL 2020: The Initial Struggle of Four Indian Superstars

Ahead of the match, Rohit was just two runs away from this mammoth landmark and he achieved it with ease after missing out on it in the last match.

This match also saw Rohit breach the 600-run mark against KXIP.  This is the fifth IPL team against whom Rohit has scored 600 or more runs in the IPL.

Earlier, Kings XI Punjab won the toss and opted to field in their Indian Premier League (IPL) match against Mumbai Indians here on Thursday.

Kings XI Punjab included Krishnappa Gowtham in place of Murugan Ashwin, while Mumbai Indians remained unchanged.