IPL: Indian Player Becomes First to Win Three Consecutive Titles

    Cricketnext Staff | Updated: May 30, 2018, 9:12 AM IST
    IPL: Indian Player Becomes First to Win Three Consecutive Titles

    Members of Chennai Super Kings pose with trophy after winning against Sunrisers Hyderabad's at VIVO IPL cricket T20 final match in Mumbai on May 27, 2018. (Image: AP)

    Indian spinner Karn Sharma has become the first player to win three consecutive IPL titles after Chennai Super Kings latest IPL triumph.

    On the previous two occasions, Karn Sharma was a part of Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians title winning seasons in 2016 and 2017 respectively.

    He even tweeted a photo, with the helmets of the three teams he has played for.

    Though, he wasn't a regular feature in the side, Karn did play the final in place of the experienced Harbhajan Singh.

    Later on Stephen Fleming revealed that it was indeed MS Dhoni's idea to bring in the leg-spinner,

    “If you look at the last few games we played, Harbhajan didn’t bowl a lot, so it was a case of what the skipper felt. He wanted a good option against right-handers,” revealed Fleming.

    “There was a lot of discussion, on whether to open with spinners, their combination. Both Harbhajan and Karn have got wickets. It was the captain’s choice.”

    Karn Sharma repaid the captain's faith as he got the big wicket of Sunrisers Hyderabad captain Kane Williamson in the final.

    Karn picked 4 wickets in the 6 matches he played and was expensive with an economy rate of 9.36.
    First Published: May 30, 2018, 9:12 AM IST

    Also Watch

    Live TV

    Team Rankings

    1 India 4397 116
    2 England 5310 108
    3 South Africa 3712 106
    4 New Zealand 2834 105
    5 Australia 3663 102
    FULL Ranking