CricketNext GET APP

India vs Sri Lanka: Islanders Get Clearance for ODI Series In India; To Arrive on Wednesday

Cricketnext | Updated: December 5, 2017, 8:46 PM IST
India vs Sri Lanka: Islanders Get Clearance for ODI Series In India; To Arrive on Wednesday

File image of Sri Lanka cricket team. (Image credit: Getty Images.)

New Delhi: In an eventful day for Sri Lanka Cricket, their players, who had been stopped from boarding the flight to India, for the upcoming ODI series, have now got the clearance from the sports ministry. Now the nine players, who are included in the ODI squad are expected to fly to India on Tuesday night itself.

"The reason I stopped the players from leaving Colombo is that it would set a bad precedent. They have now received the necessary clearance and will leave for India tonight," Sri Lanka's Sports Minister Dayasiri Jayasekara told Cricbuzz.

Earlier, in a funny turn of events Lankan players were stopped to fly to India for the ODI series that begins on December 5. In fact, the concerned players were asked to go home from the airport itself.

"Most players reached the airport around 9pm on Monday. Left-arm spinner Sachith Pathirana had even boarded the flight, but they were told to go back home as the team didn't have the approval of the minister of sports," a cricket official had told Cricbuzz.

In Sri Lanka, all the teams, be it cricket, or other sports, are required to get a clearance from the ministry, as per their sports law. The reason for stressing on getting the clearance is that, Lanka has set a 'minimum fitness standard' policy for the cricketers, which must be met.

As far as the Test series is concerned, chasing 410 to level the series, Sri Lanka were 31/3 at stumps, still needing another 379 to win the game with seven wickets in hand. Dhananjaya de Silva (13) and Angelo mathews (0) were at the crease as Ravindra Jadeja dismissed Dimuth Karunaratne (13) and night-watchman Suranga Lakmal (0) in the closing stages of the day’s play.

Sri Lanka Squad - Thisara Perera (captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella (wicketkeeper), Chaturanga de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Dushmantha Chameera, Sachith Pathirana, Kusal Perera.
First Published: December 5, 2017, 8:13 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking