Get the app

Jayasuriya, Vaas not in Sri Lanka's WC squad

Veterans Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas are not going to participate in the 2011 World Cup.

Trevor Chesterfield |January 7, 2011, 6:32 PM IST
Jayasuriya, Vaas not in Sri Lanka's WC squad

Colombo: Sri Lanka's selectors have been unable to find a place for veterans Sanath Jayasuriya or Chaminda Vaas in the 2011 World Cup squad.

Announced late on Friday afternoon, the side is a predictable one led by Kumar Sangakkara minus Suraj Randiv, who at one stage was looked on as the leading spinner in the squad. Now he has been replaced by Ajantha Mendis with Muttiah Muralitharan in the fifteen names approved by the local Minister of Sport.

As Sri Lanka will play the bulk of their games on the island, with the one exception that against New Zealand in Mumbai, it was expected the squad would contain a group of spinners. There have been media speculation over the possible selection of Jayasuriya and Vaas, veterans of the 1996 side that won the event in Lahore.

One recent columnist accused the SLC interim committee of botching the Jayasuriya retirement story.

The main weakness in the squad is who will bat at six and seven, two areas where the team has shown a weakness in recent ODIs.


Kumar Sangakkara ( Captain ), Mahela Jayawardena ( Vice captain), Upul Tharanga, TM Dilshan, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Angelo Mathews, Tissara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekera, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5046 120
2 Australia 4320 108
3 England 5253 105
4 New Zealand 3449 105
5 South Africa 3537 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6967 124
2 India 7939 118
3 New Zealand 5347 116
4 South Africa 5442 111
5 Australia 5854 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 8926 270
2 Australia 6986 269
3 England 6095 265
4 India 12141 264
5 South Africa 5248 262
see more