Home » Cricket Home » News » Mumbai Indians beat Rajasthan Royals to win their 2nd CLT20 title

Mumbai Indians beat Rajasthan Royals to win their 2nd CLT20 title

Mumbai Indians beat Rajasthan Royals to win their 2nd CLT20 title

Dwayne Smith (44) and Glenn Maxwell (37) scored quick runs, while Harbhajan claimed four wickets as Mumbai beat Rajasthan by 33 runs.

New Delhi: Mumbai Indians gave Sachin Tendulkar a perfect send off from T20 cricket, winning their second Champions League Twenty20 title, beating Rajasthan Royals by 33 runs in the summit clash at the Feroze Shah Kotla Stadium on Sunday.

Riding on quick runs by Dwayne Smith (44 off 39) and Glenn Maxwell (37 off 14), Mumbai first posted a massive 202 for 6 in their 20 overs and then defended the title, with Harbhajan Singh taking 4 for 32 in his four overs. This is the second CLT20 title for the IPL-6 winners, having won the 2011 edition.

Rajasthan were well on course chasing a big total, with Ajinkya Rahane (65 off 47) and Sanju Samson (60 off 33) playing big strokes and stringing 109 for the second wicket. But the dismissal of Samson derailed the Rajasthan chase as rest of the batsmen fell by adding just 52 more runs.

Tendulkar and Royals skipper Rahul Dravid, both of whom having announced quitting the T20 game after Sunday's match, were out for low scores.

From 155 for three in 16 overs, Rajasthan collapsed dramatically to lose as many as six wickets for just 14 runs. Besides Harbhajan's four-for, Kieron Pollard chipped in with three wickets for 31.

Earlier, the Mumbai batsmen fired in unison to post 202 for 6. After a solid start by opener Smith and quick runs by skipper Rohit Sharma (33) in the middle, Glenn Maxwell's 14-ball 37 cameo in the end took the IPL champions past 200-run mark.

This was the highest total for the Mumbai, who scored 142 runs in their last 10 overs, in the Champions League Twenty20.

Rajasthan made their intentions clear from the very beginning. Dravid took a more logical stance by not coming out to bat in the top order, which has been his usual position in T20. But the move, unfortunately, did not pay expected dividends in the end.

Having begun by hitting two fours in the very first over of their innings, opener Kushal Perera perished for eight.

But Rahane and Samson took off from the word go with the latter being the more dominating of the two. Samson chose Harbhajan for special treatment, extracting 16 runs from his over and set the ball rolling. He and Rahane stole another 14 runs in the next over.

Samson was unstoppable as he hit Nathan Coulter-Nile for 17 runs to enable Royals register their fifty off just 4.3 overs. The duo went on punishing the bowlers for anything short and the hundred came in the ninth over.

There was a golden chance to claim Samson's wicket when he was on 53 but Glenn Maxwell dropping off Coulter-Nile's bowling. Pragyan Ojha gave Mumbai the breakthrough, taking the wicket of Samson with Harbhajan taking a good catch at the short third man. Samson departed for a 33-ball 66, studded with four fours and an equal number of sixes.

Rahane, meanwhile, continued to go for his shots with Shane Watson at the other end. But Watson's departure resulted in run-rate beginning to dip.

Even as Rahane and Binny tried hitting at every ball, pressure got the better of them and Harbhajan saw off Rahane with Smith taking a simple catch at the boundary before bowling out Binny for 10.

Surprisingly Dravid, who came at eighth position in the batting order, got out for just one. Thereafter, it was just a matter of time before the Rajasthan innings folded in 18.5 overs.

Earlier, besides other important partnerships, Maxwell added 41 runs for the sixth wicket with Dinesh Karthik (15*) that propelled Mumbai to a big score.

For Rajasthan, Pravin Tambe was the only impressive bowler with figures of 2 for 19.

(With PTI inputs)