CricketNext GET APP

New Zealand Name Unchanged Squad for Third South Africa Test

AFP | Updated: March 22, 2017, 2:28 PM IST
New Zealand Name Unchanged Squad for Third South Africa Test

File image of New Zealand cricket team. (Getty Images)

Wellington: New Zealand's squad will remain unchanged for the third Test against South Africa in Hamilton despite the mauling the Black Caps received in Wellington, chief selector Gavin Larsen said Monday.

Larsen ruled out an overhaul after New Zealand slumped to an eight-wicket loss within three days in the second Test in Wellington, insisting the country's best players were already in the squad.

Also Read: Keshav Maharaj Stars in South Africa's 8-Wkt Win

"We've got 100 percent faith in the fact that we've got what we think is the best group of Test cricketers in the country and a Test match to win in Hamilton," he told reporters.

Larsen said strike bowler Trent Boult, who missed the second Test with a sore leg, was hopeful about starting in Hamilton on Saturday.

But he said batting stalwart Ross Taylor was expected to miss another Test as he recovers from a calf tear.

Squad: Kane Williamson (capt) Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Colin de Grandhomme, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Jeetan Patel, Jeet Raval, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling

Also Watch

First Published: March 20, 2017, 11:31 AM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 4484 115
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
FULL Ranking