Get the app

Pakistan Recall Mohammad Hafeez After Bowling Action Cleared

ICC |June 23, 2018, 10:32 AM IST
Pakistan Recall Mohammad Hafeez After Bowling Action Cleared

All-rounder Mohammad Hafeez returned to the Pakistan squad while the uncapped Sahibzada Farhan was called up for Twenty20 International tri-series in Zimbabwe, which also features Australia.

Yasir Shah, the leg-spinner, who missed the tour of England and Ireland with an injury, finds a place on the one-day international squad.

Ahmed Shehzad and Rahat Ali were dropped from the squad of 15 that swept Scotland in two T20Is recently.

Hafeez’s bowling action was cleared in May, paving the way for him to pitch in as more than a batsman. Farhan, a 22-year-old batsman, is coming off strong domestic performances. He has two fifties in 15 T20 matches at an average of 36.5 and a strike-rate of 112.65.

The tri-series begins on 1 July, with the final on 8 July, before Sarfraz Ahmed and his men take on the hosts in five ODIs starting 13 July.

Pakistan, the No.1 T20I side in the world, will continue to be without Babar Azam for the tri-series as the batsman recovers from the arm fracture he picked up on the tour of England. However, he has been named in the ODI side, subject to fitness.

The 50-over squad is without Azhar Ali, the former captain, while Asif Ali, already a part of the T20 setup, was included in the ODIs as well after two List A hundreds in May.

Junaid Khan, the left-arm pacer, who missed the team’s last ODI series back in January against New Zealand with a stress fracture, has recovered, while Shah, who last played an ODI in August 2016, has a chance to add to his 17 matches in the format.

T20I squad: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Usman Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Sahibzada Farhan.

ODI squad: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Babar Azam (subject to fitness), Asif Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Junaid Khan*, Usman Khan*, Yasir Shah, Hasan Ali, Haris Sohail

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3778 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 India 8099 261
5 Australia 5471 261
see more