CricketNext GET APP

Players involved in Windies pay dispute join SA league

IANS | Updated: October 28, 2014, 12:42 PM IST
Players involved in Windies pay dispute join SA league

Johannesburg: Four of the players who controversially quit the recent One-Day International (ODI) cricket tour of India have signed contracts to play in South Africa's Ram Slam Twenty20 League.

ODI captain Dwayne Bravo, Windies T20 skipper Darren Sammy, along with Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell have all been announced by Cricket South Africa as playing in the tournament which bowls off Sunday and finishes Dec 12, reports CMC.

International T20 star Chris Gayle, who did not tour India because of an injury, has also signed up to represent Lions franchise.

"I am delighted to announce that our Franchises have recruited some of the world's best T20 players," said tournament director Graeme Smith.

"In my discussions with all the superstars it has been satisfying to note their eagerness to play in the Ram Slam as they regard South Africa as one of the best cricket Leagues in the world."

CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat added: "We are determined to raise the standard and profile of our domestic cricket and there is no doubt that these top class international players will entertain our fans over the next six weeks."

Bravo will turn out for Dolphins, Sammy will play for the Titans, Pollard will suit up for Cape Cobras while Russell will be on the Knights' roster.

However, Bravo is set to miss the first match of the series for Dolphins but the other Windies players are expected to be available for the entire league.

Bravo was at the centre of the recent imbroglio, leading the West Indies players fight with their union, WIPA, over the new terms and conditions of the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA).

The players have argued that the CBA leads to a drastic reduction in their earnings and have called for a return to the old agreement.

They quit the India tour following the fourth ODI in Dharamsala, abandoning games scheduled for Kolkata (5th ODI) and Cuttack (T20 match), and the three-Test series carded to start October 30.

Also Watch

First Published: October 28, 2014, 12:42 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3634 125
2 South Africa 3589 112
3 Australia 3499 106
4 New Zealand 2354 102
5 England 3772 97
FULL Ranking