starts in
days hours mins

Rahane, Ashwin & Karthik Take Centrestage as Deodhar Trophy Gets Underway

PTI |October 22, 2018, 6:56 PM IST
Rahane, Ashwin & Karthik Take Centrestage as Deodhar Trophy Gets Underway

New Delhi: All eyes will be on Prithvi Shaw but senior pros like Ajinkya Rahane and Ravichandran Ashwin will aim to remain relevant in the one-day format when the rejigged Deodhar Trophy starts here on Tuesday.

With only 17 ODIs left before India play their first World Cup 2019 match, the core of the Indian team is more or less settled, which can be detrimental for the motivation of the star players.

For the younger crop of domestic performers, it will be an opportunity to stake claim for the A tour to New Zealand, next month.

While his bowling partner in Tests, Ravindra Jadeja, has managed to make an ODI comeback, Ashwin has not played a limited overs game for India since July 2017.

Considering India's spin department looks settled at the moment, it will take a special effort from Ashwin to get back in the reckoning in white-ball cricket ahead of the 2019 World Cup.

His Tamil Nadu teammate, Dinesh Karthik, faces a similar situation after being dropped for the ongoing Windies series.

The wicket-keeper batsman did not do too badly in the chances he got, most recently in the 2018 Asia Cup, but following his match-winning six off the last ball in the Nidahas Trophy final, he has not done much to write home about, something his replacement Rishabh Pant has.

For that very reason, a successful Deodhar Trophy is a must for Karthik if he has to make a case for selection in the team for the away Australia series next month. India A side also includes teenage sensation Shaw as well as Karun Nair, who would like to make a strong case for himself after being ignored in England.

Test vice-captain Rahane, who has not played an ODI since February 2018, too will have to do something sensational for selectors to take notice. He was a potential candidate for the No.4 position where Ambati Rayudu is being preferred at the moment.

Most of the performers in the recently concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy have been picked for the event which will see India A, B and C fight it out for the title. Vijay Hazare Trophy champions are not featuring this time, like in earlier editions. Overall, four games will be staged including the final on October 27.

India B will be captained Shreyas Iyer and C by Rahane.


India A: Dinesh Karthik (C & WK), Prithvi Shaw, Anmolpreet Singh, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ankit Bawne, Nitish Rana, Karun Nair, Krunal Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shreyas Gopal, Shams Mulani, Mohammed Siraj, Dhawal Kulkarni, Siddarth Kaul.

India B: Shreyas Iyer (C), Mayank Agarwal, Rituraj Gaekwad, Prashant Chopra, Hanuma Vihari, Manoj Tiwary, Ankush Bains (WK), Rohit Rayudu, K Gowtham, Mayank Markande, S Nadeem, Deepak Chahar, Varun Aaron, Jaydev Unadkat.

India C: Ajinkya Rahane (C), Abhinav Mukund, Shubman Gill, Ravikumar Samarth, Suresh Raina, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (WK), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Papu Ray, Navdeep Saini, Rajneesh Gurbani, Umar Nazir. PTI

Related stories

Also Watch

Cricket World Cup Points Table

9 7 1 1 15 +0.80
9 7 2 0 14 +0.86
9 6 3 0 12 +1.15
9 5 3 1 11 +0.17
9 5 3 1 11 -0.43
9 3 4 2 8 -0.91
9 3 5 1 7 -0.03
9 3 5 1 7 -0.41
9 2 6 1 5 -0.22
9 0 9 0 0 -1.32

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6420 123
2 India 6807 122
3 New Zealand 4763 113
4 Australia 5470 112
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 Australia 5471 261
5 India 7273 260
see more