CricketNext GET APP

Raina Back for New Zealand ODIs, Ashwin Rested

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: October 6, 2016, 7:03 PM IST
Raina Back for New Zealand ODIs, Ashwin Rested

Suresh Raina (Getty Images)

New Delhi: The newly appointed MSK Prasad-led selection committee has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming ODI series against New Zealand. As expected MS Dhoni has been retained as the captain of the team.

Middle-order batsman Suresh Raina has made a comeback in the ODI squad after a year's gap.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami have all been rested for the series. Veteran spinner Amit Mishra makes a comeback in the ODI fold and will be expected to take care of the spin department along with Axar Patel.

The selectors have kept their faith in a number of youngsters who were part of the team that took on Zimbabwe earlier this year.

Batsmen Mandeep Singh and Kedar Jadhav have been retained in the squad along with pacemen Jayant Yadav and Dhawal Kulkarni.

All-rounder Hardik Pandya too has been named in the ODI squad for the first time. Hardik, who was part of India's WT20 squad, is yet to make his one-day international debut for India.

India would like to get back to winning ways in ODIs at home, having lost the last series 2-3 to South Africa in October last year.

India's ODI squad for New Zealand series:

MS Dhoni(Capt), Rohit, Ajinkya, Virat, Manish, Raina, Hardik, Axar, Jayant, Mishra, Bumrah, Dhawal, Umesh, Mandeep, Kedar

First Published: October 6, 2016, 6:50 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 4484 115
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
FULL Ranking