Home » Cricket Home » News » Ranji Trophy, Group A: Ishant bags four as Delhi defeat Haryana by 105 runs

Ranji Trophy, Group A: Ishant bags four as Delhi defeat Haryana by 105 runs

Ranji Trophy, Group A: Ishant bags four as Delhi defeat Haryana by 105 runs

Ishant Sharma bowled an inspired spell in the post lunch session as Delhi beat a dogged Haryana side by 105 runs.

New Delhi: Pacer Ishant Sharma bowled an inspired spell in the post lunch session as Delhi beat a dogged Haryana side by 105 runs in their fourth round Ranji Trophy Group A encounter on Sunday.

Chasing a target of 376, Haryana were all out for 270 in 70 overs. Sachin Rana produced a gutsy effort of an unbeaten 86 but Ishant dismissed the tail-enders in the post lunch session to seal the match in favour of the home side. Ishant got four for 76 in the second innings as his match haul was 9 for 109.

However, credit should be given to Haryana for making a match out of it starting the day at 63 for five.

Rana, who played 124 balls, hit eight boundaries and two huge sixes off Rajat Bhatia. He had a fruitful partnership with Jayant Yadav which produced 117 runs. Yadav was more attacking of the two, scoring 60 off 62 balls with nine boundaries.

It was Varun Sood who dismissed Yadav who was bowled while dancing down the track. In came Joginder Sharma (35), who added 63 runs for the seventh wicket.

Joginder's 35 came off 52 with five fours. It was 256 for seven when Ishant did the trick with old ball. He first got Joginder bowled and then bowled a couple of back of length deliveries to dismiss Harshal Patel and Sanjay Badhwar to bring an end to the match.

Gautam Gambhir was named man-of-the match for his match winning 153-run knock. Gambhir's innings certainly increased his chances of making it as reserve opener for the Test squad for India's South Africa tour next month.

Brief scores: Delhi 201 and 312 for 7 decl. Haryana 138 and 270 in 70 overs (Sachin Rana 86 not out, Jayant Yadav 60, Ishant Sharma 4 for 76, Varun Sood 4 for 49). Delhi won by 104 runs. Delhi 6 points; Haryana 0.

Odisha thrash Jharkhand by nine wickets

Opener Girjia Rout slammed an unbeaten 67 as Odisha thrashed Jharkhand by nine wickets on the final day of their Ranji Trophy Group A fourth round match.

After Basant Mohanty grabbed all the nine Jharkhand wickets that fell on Day 3, it was the turn of medium-pacer Alok Chandra Sahoo to take all the four remaining wickets on the fourth day morning to help Odisha dismissed the visiting side for 194 in their second innings.

Chasing 109 for a win, Odisha overhauled the target with ease as only one wicket fell, when Varun Aaron had Vikas Pati caught for 11.

Rout hit 11 boundaries in his 98-ball unbeaten 67 as he took Odisha to 109 for one in 30 overs. Odisha walked away with all the six points by virtue of the win.

Jharkhand started the day at 149 for six but Sahoo struck on the second ball of the day, dismissing Bhavik Thaker for nine.

Six overs later, Sahoo sent a well-set Pappu Singh back to the pavilion for 61. Shahbaz Nadeem and Shankar Rao resisted with scores of 20 and 10 but both fell soon, giving Sahoo figures of 4 for 42.

Brief scores: Odisha: 307 and 109 for 1 (Girija Rout 67 not out) beat Jharkhand 221 & 194 all out in 73.4 overs (Pappu Singh 61, Basant Mohanty 6 for 88, Alok Sahoo 4 for 42) by nine wickets.

Karnataka bag three points against Vidarbha

Nagpur: Lokesh Rahul cracked a brilliant 158 as Karnataka overhauled Vidarbha's first innings total of 542, scoring 549 for 9 on the final day in their drawn Group A match here on Sunday.

After Vidarbha posted 542 on Saturday, it turned out to be a battle for the first innings lead as Karnataka on Sunday resumed from their overnight score of 252 for 2 to eventually surpass the hosts' score in the dying moment of the match.

Karnataka thus registered three valuable points due to their first innings lead, while Vidarbha had to settle for one point. Resuming at an individual score of 59 on Day 4, Rahul kept Karnataka in the hunt as he added 132 runs for the third wicket with Manish Pandey (67).

Brief scores: Vidarbha 1st innings: 542

Karnataka 1st innings: 549-9 in 148.1 overs (KL Rahul 158; Umesh Yadav 3/121, Akshay Wakhare 3/113).

Gujarat draw against Punjab

Mohali: Samit Gohel and Rujul Bhatt struck unbeaten centuries in their 210-run partnership to help Gujarat eke out a draw against Punjab in their Ranji Trophy Group A match.

Chasing 355 runs for win but with only seven wickets in hand, Gohel and Bhatt resumed Gujarat second innings and batted through the day to save the match.

Gujarat had ended third day at a precarious 33 for 3 and all the responsibility to save the match was on them and did not disappoint the visitors, who ended at 224 for 3.

Gohel remained unbeaten on 102 and Bhatt on exactly 100. Gohel's knock came off 280 balls with 10 boundaries while Bhatt faced 284 balls and hit 16 shots to the fence.

Brief Scores: Punjab: 172 and 309

Gujarat: 127 and 224 for 3 in 101.5 overs (Samit Gohel 102 not out, Rujul Bhatt 100 not out; Sandeep Sharma 2/43).