Get the app

Ranji Trophy, Group A: Karnataka beat Haryana by three wickets

Karnataka batsmen made heavy weather of small run-chase before registering a three-wicket win over Haryana in their Ranji Trophy group A match.

Press Trust of India |December 9, 2013, 3:16 PM IST
Ranji Trophy, Group A: Karnataka beat Haryana by three wickets

Rohtak: Karnataka batsmen made heavy weather of small run-chase before registering a three-wicket win over Haryana in their Ranji Trophy group A match on Monday.

Karnataka were made to toil hard by Haryana pacer Harshal Patel, who snared his second five-for of the match, to reach the 97-run target at Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium. Allrounder Stuart Binny (31 off 30 balls) played a cameo and held one end up to take his side home after they started the fourth and final day at 62 for 4.

Patel, who had two wickets against his name, removed Karnataka skipper CM Gautum (5) without adding to his overnight total after Binny looked to finish off the target quickly.

Karnataka camp was jolted by three-quick strikes from Patel in the space of four runs, making the run chase more enticing. Patel got Gautam caught on 82 and went on to remove Ganesh Satish (0) and Abrar Kazi (0) to raise hope of an improbable win.

But Binny kept his cool to prevent further blemishes as the visitors collect full six points. The 23-year-old, who got six wickets in the first innings, ended with match figures of 11 for 96 in 45.1 overs.

Brief Scores: Haryana - 247 and 105; Karnataka - 256 and 97 for 7 in 33.5 overs (Stuart Binny 31 not out, Harshal Patel 5/41)

Mumbai eke out a draw against Jharkhand

At Mumbai, having conceded the vital first innings lead to minnows Jharkhand, champions Mumbai had no other option but to fight for a draw which they did successfully after surviving anxious moments in their Ranji Trophy Group A game.

Placed at the bottom of table Jharkhand, overnight 176 for 5 in the second innings after taking a first innings lead of 86, delayed the declaration as they wanted Ishant Jaggi to complete his century after he was unbeaten on 51 on the third evening on Sunday.

The visitors finally declared at 278 for 7, Jaggi's contribution being 103 not out in 217 minutes, 41 minutes to lunch, but this delay calling off their their innings robbed Jharkhand bowlers of some valuable time with Mumbai needing a stiff target of 365 in 64 overs for a win.

When stumps were drawn finally, Mumbai had lost five of their top-order batsmen with 115 runs on board. At point of time the hosts were in deep trouble at 78 for 5 in the 44th over.

The extra pace of Varun Aaron, who grabbed four wickets in Mumbai's first innings, once again did the early damage.

The pacer sent back seasoned Wasim Jaffer (10) cheaply for the second time in the match and Sidesh Lad (4) to reduce the hosts to 28 for 3 after Shiv Shankar Rao trapped Sushant Marathe leg before as the opener made a pair of ducks.

Mumbai batsmen then fought with their backs to the wall with Aditya Tare (36) once again showing good application.

Tare added 39 runs with Hiken Shah (21 not out in 166 minutes) and denied Jharkhand a wicket for 18 overs.

Though Tare later edged a sharply turning ball from rival captain and left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem to slip fielder Saurabh Tiwary and was followed soon by home team skipper Abhishek Nayar, time ran out for the visitors to force what would have been a memorable victory over the 40-time winners of the title.

From 78 for 5, left-hander Shah and Suryakumar Yadav (31 not out in 52 minutes) kept the rival bowlers at bay till play was called off after the eighth mandatory over.

For Jharkhand, Aaron and Nadeem secured two wickets apiece.

Jharkhand, already out of contention for a place in the knock-out phase, secured three points to boost their tally to six from as many games.

Mumbai gained a solitary point that took their tally to 20 from the same number of games and helped them maintain their lead in the league table.

Brief scores: Jharkhand: 351 and 278 for 7 (Bhavik Thakker 39, R Nemat 32, S Tiwary 38, I Jaggi not out 103; Javed Khan 2 for 48, V Dabholkar 2 for 113, A Nayar 2 for 39) drew with Mumbai 265 and 115 for 5 (A Tare 36, H Shah 21 not out, S Yadav 31 not out; V Aaron 2 for 29, S Nadeem 2 for 23)

Punjab vs Vidarbha Ranji match ends in a draw

At Mohali, Jiwanjot Singh and Uday Kaul notched up a double hundred and century respectively but Punjab had little else to cheer as they had to settle with just one point after their Ranji Trophy Group A match against Vidarbha ended in a draw.

Vidarbha took three important points due to a first-innings lead. Vidarbha had scored 360 all out in their first innings, in reply to Punjab's 184 all out.

Jiwanjot, on 188 overnight, was out for exactly 200, having struck 25 fours, while Uday made 133 on the fourth and final day at the PCA Stadium here.

Punjab eventually declared their second innings at 469 for 5, having batted for 24 overs on the fourth day to add 139 to their overnight 330 for 1.

That left Vidarbha 294 to get for their second win of the season, but those hopes received a quick blow when Punjab struck twice early.

Sandeep Sharma trapped Faiz Fazal for a duck in the first over before Siddarth Kaul dismissed Ravi Jangid for 10 to leave the visitors at 46 for 2.

But Akshay Kolhar and the captain Shalabh Shrivastava shut the door on Punjab, putting up 140 for the third wicket in 39 overs.

Kolhar faced 154 balls to score 91. Shrivastava was batting on 60 having struck five fours, before the game fizzled out into an inevitable stalemate.

Brief Scores: Punjab: 184 and 469 for 6 dec (Jiwanjot 200, Uday Kaul 133; Ravi Thakur 2/84, Sandeep Singh 2/86) drew with Vidarbha 360 and 186 for 3 (Kolhar 91, Shrivastava 60 not out)

Virender Sehwag fails yet again as Delhi settle for three points

In Sambhalpur, Virender Sehwag again came cropper in his desperate bid to cross 50-run mark as Delhi managed three points by virtue of their first innings lead against Odisha in a group A Ranji Trophy encounter.

Sehwag, who had raced to 32 off 31 balls could only manage 44 off 81 balls as he was cleaned bowled by medium pacer Basant Mohanty (1/42). Delhi scored 231 for six before declaring and setting an impossible target of 285. Odisha in the 14 overs of formality managed 37 runs.

For Delhi Vaibhav Rawal (51, 101 balls, 5x4) and wicketkeeper Rahul Yadav (50 not out, 122 balls, 6x4) made half centuries.

Sehwag, who looked in fluent touch yesterday evening was at his scratchy best he scord only 12 runs in the 50 balls that he faced today. Sehwag now has only 113 runs from eight innings with the highest being 44 in the second innings in the match that concluded Monday.

With these three points, Delhi are now on 12 points from five games and will have to atleast win a couple of outright games to qualify for the knock-out stages. Odisha on the otherhand now have 10 points from five games.

Brief Scores: Delhi 442 & 231/6 dec (Vaibhav Rawal 51, Rahul Yadav 50). Odisha 379 & 37/0.

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5211 116
2 New Zealand 3959 110
3 Australia 4320 108
4 England 5253 105
5 South Africa 3537 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6967 124
2 India 7939 118
3 New Zealand 5347 116
4 South Africa 5602 112
5 Australia 5915 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 8926 270
2 Australia 7815 269
3 England 6407 267
4 India 12141 264
5 South Africa 6220 259
see more