CricketNext GET APP

Ranji Trophy, Group A: Yuvraj Singh Leads From Front as Punjab Win by 126 Runs

Press Trust of India | Updated: October 16, 2016, 8:09 PM IST
Ranji Trophy, Group A: Yuvraj Singh Leads From Front as Punjab Win by 126 Runs

A file photo of Yuvraj Singh. (Getty Images)

Rohtak: In-form skipper Yuvraj Singh's sporting declaration paid off as his bowlers fired in unison to help Punjab bundle out Madhya Pradesh for 180 and notch up a 126-run win in their Group A Ranji Trophy match on Sunday.

Chasing 307 runs for an outright victory, Madhya Pradesh were bowled out in 64.4 overs at the CH Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium.

Pacer Manprit Gony was the wrecker-in-chief for Punjab, returning figures of 4/41, while Siddarth Kaul (3/42) and Sandeep Sharma (2/25) provided the much-needed support at the other end.

Punjab will pick six points for the outright win.

Shubham Sharma top scored for Madhya Pradesh with 37, while the experienced captain Devendra Bundela contributed 32 as none of the MP batsmen could score a half century in the face of some disciplined bowling from Punjab.

On Saturday, first-innings centurion Yuvraj produced another fine knock (76) before the captain declared their second innings to set Madhya Pradesh a target of 307 on the third and penultimate day.

Madhya Pradesh were 26 for one overnight and needing another 281, they kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

Points: Punjab 6, Madhya Pradesh 0.

Easwaran shines brightly as Bengal start with 3 points vs UP

In Jaipur, young Abhimanyu Easwaran scored his second century of the match as Bengal logged home three points against Uttar Pradesh by virtue of their first innings lead.

After securing a vital 56-run first innings lead, Bengal employed a safety-first approach declaring at 274 for six in 76 overs leaving UP with an improbable target of 331.

The two captains shook hands when UP scored 70 for no loss in 20 overs. UP got a point from the game.

Just like the first day, the final day also belonged right-handed opener Easwaran carried his bat through the innings with an unbeaten 110 following his 142 in the first innings.

This was his third first-class hundred and batted for a period of more five and quarter hours, facing 209 balls. There were 11 boundaries in his innings.

He added 115 for the first wicket with left-hander Sayan Sekhar Mondal (51), who is enjoying his new role, hitting his fourth half-century in his 13th first-class match.

He also added 145 runs for the fifth wicket with Shreevats Goswami, who raced his way to a 91-ball-100, punishing a jaded UP attack with 17 boundaries and a six. This is Goswami's second hundred in 31 games.

There was a mini-collapse in the Bengal second innings triggered by Kuldeep Yadav (4/107) as UP were reduced to 115 for no loss to 129 for five.

However Shreevats showed his attacking instincts as Easwaran again held anchore at one end to ensure safety for Bengal.

Brief Scores: Bengal 466 and 274/6 decl (Abhimanyu Easwaran 110 no, Shreevats Goswami 100 no, Sayan Sekhar Mondal 51, Kuldeep Yadav 4/107); Uttar Pradesh: 410 & 70/0. Match Drawn. Points: Bengal 3; Uttar Pradesh 1.

Tamil Nadu register brilliant come from behind win vs Railways

Tamil Nadu overcame their first innings batting woes to record a facile 174-run win over Railways.

Considering Tamil Nadu were bowled out for 121 in the first innings and conceded a lead of 52 runs, it was a brilliant fightback by Abhinav Mukund's boys.

Chasing a target of 401, Railways starting the day on 108 for no loss, were all-out for 226 in 82.2 overs as the last five wickets fell for only for 4 runs.

Off-spinner Malolan Rangarajan had best figures of 4/37 while seamers Jagannathan Kousik (2/17) and Thangarasu Natarajan (2/51) also chipped in with useful wickets.

Railways had a batting collapse on the day despite century from opener Saurabh Wakaskar (120) and 52 from Shivakant Shukla.

Once Shukla was out on his overnight score in the first over of the final morning, cleaned by Kousik, there was no stopping Tamil Nadu bowlers, who got wickets at regular intervals.

Mrunal Devdhar (6), Vasaimudi Chlevuraj (6) and Arindam Ghosh (15) and Mahesh Rawat (2) were dismissed cheaply as Railways were 196 for five. From there on, things only went downhill.

Brief Scores: Tamil Nadu 121 and 452/8 decl. Railways: 173 and (target 401) 226 in 82.2 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 120, Shivakant Shukla 52, Malolan Rangarajan 4/37)

Tamil Nadu won by 174 runs. Points: TN 6; Railways 0.

First Published: October 16, 2016, 6:46 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 4484 115
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
FULL Ranking