CricketNext GET APP

Ranji Trophy 2016: Brilliant Yuvraj Hits 164 as Punjab Post Record Day 1 Score

Press Trust of India | Updated: October 14, 2016, 11:35 AM IST
Ranji Trophy 2016: Brilliant Yuvraj Hits 164 as Punjab Post Record Day 1 Score

File Image of Yuvraj Singh. (Getty Images)

Lahli: Yuvraj Singh shrugged off rustiness as he hammered Madhya Pradesh to submission with a superb knock of unbeaten 164 as Punjab posted a record 347 for 3 on the first day on a track helpful for the seamers in a Ranji Trophy encounter.

Yuvraj, who is out of favour as far as national team is concerned, showed that he is still a force to reckon with as his 25th first-class hundred was studded with 24 boundaries and he faced 241 balls in all.

His century definitely is the highlight among all the matches of the Senior National Championship that are being held across the country.

Punjab's total, which was also propped by India discard Gurkeerat Mann's undefeated 101 is the highest on a first day at Lahli surpassing Haryana's 339/7 against Rajasthan during last edition of the tournament.

Brief Scores: Punjab 347/3 in 89 overs (Yuvraj Singh 164 no, Gurkeerat Singh 101 batting, Jiwanjot Singh 61, Ishwar Pandey 2/95) vs Madhya Pardesh.

In Visakhapatnam, Captain Pankaj Singh produced an incisive spell of fast bowling for a five-wicket haul as Rajasthan bundled out Assam for a paltry 195 in their Group B Ranji Trophy match.

Electing to field, Rajasthan made an impact on the game with Pankaj accounting for both the Assam openers. He first trapped Rahul Hazarika (6) and then had Pallav Kumar Das (40) caught by wicket-keeper Chetan Bisht.

Before being dismissed Pallav had added 63 runs for the second wicket with Rishav Das, who ended up top scorer for his side with an unbeaten 93. Rishav was solid from one end but kept losing partners with following batsmen struggling to reach double-digit score.

Rishav's 93 came off 221 balls with 10 shots to the fence.

Only Syed Mohammed managed 15 runs while Amit verma, (0), KB Arun Karthik (7), Gokul Sharma (0) and Tarjinder Singh (1) all falling cheaply.

Pankaj completed his five-wicket haul when he caught and bowled Krishna Das (9), who happened to be the last man out on Assam first innings. NB Singh (2/40) took two wickets while A V Choudhary (1/22) and AB Singh (1/32) dismissed one batsman each.

Brief Scores: Assam 1st innings: 195 all out in 84.1 overs (Rishav Das 93 not out, PK Das 40; Pankaj Singh 5/39).

Odisha all out for 228 against Saurashtra

In Hyderabad, opener Sandeep Pattnaik's 123-run knock was the lone saving grace in Odisha's dismal batting performance as Saurashtra dismissed them for 228 on the opening day.

In reply, Saurashtra were 4 for no loss when stumps were drawn for the day. Openers Mohsin Dodia (3) and Sagar Jogiyani (0) were at the crease for Saurashtra.

Left-arm spinner Dharmendrasinh Jadeja was the wrecker-in-chief for Saurashtra with figures of 4 for 67 in 23.5 overs.

Brief Scores: Odisha: 228 all out in 80.5 overs (Sandeep Pattnaik 123, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 4/67) Saurashtra: 4/0 in 7 overs.

Delhi bowlers taken to task by Gugale, Bawne twin tons

In Mumbai, stand-in-skipper Swapnil Gugale's patient 152 was complemented brilliantly by Ankit Bawane's equally impressive 120 not out which helped Maharashtra reach a commendable 290 for 2 against Delhi on the first day.

The duo added 249 runs for the unbroken third wicket stand as Delhi used as many as seven bowlers without much success.

Electing to bat at the Wankhede stadium, Maharashtra were reeling at 41 for 2 as Delhi pacer Navdeep Saini struck twice removing opener Harshad Khadiwale (10) and Chirag Khurana (4) in the first half an hour.

While Khadiwale was caught by Delhi's skipper Unmukt Chand in slips, Khurana was trapped leg before wicket.

Bawane walked two down ably supported his skipper as the two stitched an unbeaten 249 run stand for the third wicket.

They ensured that the side did not lose any more wickets in the last two sessions of play.

Gugale's knock comprised 19 boundaries and a six over extra cover. The 25-year-old right-handed batsman, who hit all around the park, made most of the two 'lives' which he got courtesy Delhi's sloppy fielding.

Delhi bowlers toiled hard, even brought back pacers Parwinder Awana and Saini back in the attack, tried part-time spinners Rana and Milind Kumar, but were unable to to break the partnership.

Maharashtra were 143/2 at lunch and added only 67 runs on a sedate note till tea when the side was at 210/2. After tea, 80 runs were added to the score.

Maharashtra made three changes to the side with Chirag Khurana, Mohsin Sayyad and Naushad Shaikh coming in place of Kedar Jadhav, Dominic Muthuswamy and Rurturaj Gaikwad.

Brief Scores: Maharashtra 290/2 (Swapnil Gugale 152 not out, Ankit Bawane 120 not out, Navdeep Saini 2/43) vs Delhi.

First Published: October 13, 2016, 6:34 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 4484 115
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
FULL Ranking