Get the app

Ranji Trophy, Group B: Rajasthan triumph against MP

Rajasthan took merely 10 overs to complete the formalities and register an emphatic seven-wicket win over Madhya Pradesh in their Group B Ranji Trophy match.

Press Trust of India |December 9, 2013, 1:39 PM IST
Ranji Trophy, Group B: Rajasthan triumph against MP

Gwalior: Rajasthan took merely 10 overs to complete the formalities and register an emphatic seven-wicket win over Madhya Pradesh in their Group B Ranji Trophy match on Monday.

Overnight 77 for 3 in a chase of 148, Rajasthan relied on Robin Bist (63 not out) and Ashok Menaria (49 not out) to romp home on the fourth and final day of the match here.

This was Rajasthan's first win this season after two losses and three draws. The team's points tally now stands at 11 from six matches.

Madhya Pradesh, on the other hand, slumped to their second loss of the season. In fact, MP are yet to register a win this year having drawn four apart from the two defeats.

Earlier in the morning, Bist and Menaria combined well to steer Rajasthan to victory. The duo put together a 73-run unbeaten stand to finish off the task with utmost ease.

While Bist's knock came off 88 balls, including 10 fours, Menaria was a tad more aggressive consuming just 34 deliveries for his innings which was studded with nine boundaries.

For MP, Ishwar Pandey was the most successful bowler with figures of 2 for 52 in 12 overs even though he failed to strike on Monday.

Brief Scores: Madhya Pradesh: 115 and 314; Rajasthan: 282 and 150/3 in 32.4 overs (Robin Bist 63, Ashok Menaria 49, Ishwar Pandey 2/52)

TN register win against Baroda, earn full points

At Chennai, Offspinner M Rangarajan took six-wicket haul as Tamil Nadu got the better of Baroda by nine wickets and earn full six points on the fourth and final day of their Ranji Trophy Group B match.

After Rangarajan (6 for 46) and R Aushik Srinivas (3 for 23) shared nine wickets between them to bundle out Baroda for a mere 129 in their second innings, Tamil Nadu were required to chase down just 59 runs for victory, which they achieved comfortably by losing just one wicket.

Earlier, Tamil Nadu had scored 233 in their first innings in reply to Baroda's 162 in the first essay, thereby taking a solid 71-run lead.

Resuming on 73 for 1, Baroda lost overnight batsman Aditya Waghmode, who added just three runs to his last night's score of 19 before becoming Rangarajan's first victim of the day.

Waghmode had put on an important 53-run stand with the other overnight batsman Dhiren Mistry for the second wicket.

Mistry, starting on 29, however, went on to complete his half-century even as wickets kept tumbling at the other end.

Waghmode's dismissal triggered a collapse and from 91 for two, the visitors were all out for 129. They lost eight wickets for only 38 runs. None of the middle or lower order batsman could reach double digits.

Mistry was the lone batsman who tried to consolidate the innings, scoring a patient 230-ball 64 including five boundaries.

Chasing a small target, both Tamil Nadu openers - K Arun Karthik (33) and Abhinav Mukund (20 not out) - took the hosts home in 14.5 overs.

Brief scores: Baroda: 162 & 129 all out (Dhiren Mistry 64; M Rangarajan 6/46, R Aushik Srinivas 3/23); Tamil Nadu: 233 & 59/1 in 14.5 overs (K Arun Karthik 33, Abhinav Mukund not out 20)

In New Delhi, Railways pace duo of Anureet Singh and Krishna Kant Upadhyay took 35 balls to dismiss the remaining three Bengal batsmen as the home team got three important points by virtue of their first innings lead of 36 runs in a Ranji Trophy Group B encounter.

Railways are very much in the hunt with 20 points from five games, while Bengal's chances of making it to last eight is slowly evaporating with only 12 from five games. Needing 55 runs to overtake Railways' first innings score of 306, Bengal could add only 18 runs to their overnight score as they were bowled out for 270 in 133.5 overs with skipper Laxmi Ratan Shukla remaining stranded on a well-made 95 (143b, 9x4, 2x6).

It was a matter of one wicket as Railways needed to get rid of the gritty Iresh Saxena, who batted for nearly two hours playing 84 balls for his six. His luck finally ran out when Anureet (5/97) completed his five-for with a ball that came in and the Bengal batsman was trapped leg before.

Kartik must have been saying something uncharitable to Dinda on the pretext of setting the field as umpire Milind Pathak had to intervene and tell Kartik to get back to his place. A few balls later, Dinda pulled Anureet to boundary and waved his bat in 'Sreesanth fashion' (Durban 2006 after hitting Andre Nel).

After a few airy shots, Dinda was destined to play a mistimed pull-shot which was gleefully accepted by the bowler Krishna Kant Upadhyay (3/78). The very next delivery saw Shib Shankar Paul walk down the pitch like Robin Uthappa, only to play a faulty forward defensive stroke that saw his stumps cartwheeling and Upadhyay made an ugly gesture of a kick, which saw the umpire talking to the pacer.

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5211 116
2 New Zealand 3959 110
3 Australia 4320 108
4 England 5253 105
5 South Africa 3537 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6967 124
2 India 7939 118
3 New Zealand 5347 116
4 South Africa 5602 112
5 Australia 5915 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 8926 270
2 Australia 7815 269
3 England 6407 267
4 India 12141 264
5 South Africa 6220 259
see more