Get the app

Ranji Trophy, Group B, Round 6: Karnataka thrash Delhi by 159 runs

Meanwhile, Uttar Pradesh joined Baroda as group B leaders after playing out a draw.

Deborshi Chaki & Diptosh Majumdar | |December 11, 2012, 7:29 PM IST
Ranji Trophy, Group B, Round 6: Karnataka thrash Delhi by 159 runs

Bangalore: Karnataka downed Delhi by 159 runs at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium for their first outright win of the Ranji Trophy season to earn six points as they moved to sixth position in the points tally. Chasing a target of 410 to win, Delhi were bundled out for 250 in 81.5 overs. For the hosts, Vinay Kumar and HS Sharath picked up three wickets each in the second innings with Stuart Binny scalping two and Abhimanyu Mithun and KP Appanna getting one wicket each. For Delhi, Mithun Manhas top-scored with 80 and Rajat Bhatia chipped in with 63 runs.

Starting their day on 40 for 3, Delhi lost Mohit Sharma and Vaibhav Rawal in the first hour of play but veteran campaigners Manhas and Bhatia got together for a 110-run stand for the sixth wicket. Stuart Binny got the breakthrough scalping Manhas and 17 runs later, the medium pacer also sent Bhatia packing to leave Delhi reeling at 206 for 7. Allrounder Sumit Narwal threw his bat around a quick 32-ball 41 before Vinay Kumar removed Narwal and Awana to finish off the match.

Brief scores: Karnataka 192 & 475/9dec (R Uthappa 81, Stuart Binny 85, P Awana 3 for 89) beat Delhi 258 & 250 (Mithun Manhas 80, R Bhatia 63, HS Sharath 3 for 40) by 159 runs.

At Nagpur, Uttar Pradesh and Vidharbha played out a draw with UP claiming three points to be placed as joint leaders with 20 points alongside Baroda in Group B. Starting the day on 237 for 6, Vidarbha were all out for 308 conceding a massive first innings lead to UP with Hemang Badani top scoring with 76. For the hosts, Imtiaz Ahmed and Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up three wickets each with Piyush Chawla and Arish Alam getting one apiece.

In reply, after Shrikant Wagh cleaned bowled Tanmay Shrivastava for a nought, Suresh Raina scored an unbeaten century (105) with Kaif scoring 42 and Parwinder Singh 21 as UP finished on 175 for 3 in 51 overs.

Brief scores: Uttar Pradesh 548/8 and 175 for 3 (S Raina 105* M Kaif 42, Shalabh Shrivastava 2 for 38) vs Vidarbha 308 (H Badani 76, FY Fazal 45; B Kumar 3 for 41).

In Pune, Haryana fought hard against Maharastra to earn a draw as the hosts got three points to move one position up to eighth with eight points in the standings. Haryana, meanwhile, moved to the bottom of the pile with seven points from five games. Starting the final day at 75 for 2, Haryana’s Sunny Singh (54) and Abhimanyu Khod (42) started off cautiously but Shrikant Mundhe got the wicket of Singh. Samad Fallah then picked up Khod and Rahul Dalal (26) in quick succession. The lower order put up a good resistance with Yatharth Tomar (21), Amit Mishra (29) and Jayant Yadav (22*) playing out the day to give their team a draw. For Maharashtra, Samad Fallah got three wickets, Shrikant Mundhe got two and Anupam Sanklecha picked up one.

Brief scores: Haryana 257 & 255 for 7 (Sunny Singh 54, Abhimanyu Khod 42; Samad Fallah 3 for 59) vs Maharashtra 540/8dec (S Atitkar 190, K Jadhav 109, Harshal Patel 2 for 75, Amit Mishra 2 for 93).

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5046 120
2 New Zealand 2829 109
3 England 4366 104
4 South Africa 3177 102
5 Australia 3672 102
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 8366 270
2 Australia 6986 269
3 England 5568 265
4 South Africa 4720 262
5 India 9349 260
see more