CricketNext GET APP
Indian T20 Carnival Associate Sponsors

Ranji Trophy, Group B: Saurashtra Concede 1st Innings Lead to Odisha; Rajasthan Reach 208/3 Vs Assam

Press Trust of India | Updated: October 14, 2016, 6:35 PM IST
Ranji Trophy, Group B: Saurashtra Concede 1st Innings Lead to Odisha; Rajasthan Reach 208/3 Vs Assam

Image used for representation purpose only. (Getty Images)

Hyderabad: Saurashtra conceded the first innings lead after their batsmen failed to come good against Odisha and were dismissed for 186 on the second day of the Group B Ranji Trophy match here on Friday.

In reply, Odisha were 62/2 after their first innings effort of 228. At stumps, Govinda Poddar (13) and Anurag Sarangi (13) were holding fort for Odisha.

It was a poor batting effort by Saurashtra, whose bowlers had done well to dismiss Odisha on the first day itself.

Skipper Jaydev Shah produced the Saurashtra's best batting effort with a 64-run that was laced with eight hits to the fence. Chirag Jani was the other notable contributor with a 45-run knock, which had four fours.

Basant Mohanty was the top wicket-taker for Odisha with figures of 4/58 in 20 overs. Suryakant Pradhan and Dhiraj Singh scalped three wickets apiece.

Brief Scores:

Saurashtra: 186 in 67.3 overs (Jaydev Shah 64, Basant Mohanty 4/58)

Odisha: 228 and 62/2 in 23 overs (Ranjit Singh 25, Jaydev Unadkat 1/13).

In another match, Rajasthan produced a solid batting performance to be 208/3 in their first innings on the second day of their Ranji Trophy Group B clash against Assam.
After dismissing Assam for 195 yesterday, Rajasthan rode on a fine middle order batting effort to grab the first innings lead.

Mahipal Lomror was the star of the show for Rajasthan, unbeaten at 84 along with Rajat Bhatia (28) when stumps were drawn for the day.

Lomror's 239-ball knock was studded with 10 hits to the fence and his partnerships with Vineet Saxena (30) and Ashok Menaria (44) proved crucial in Rajasthan's steady batting performance.

With Saxena, he combined to add 76 runs for the second wicket before forging a 75-run stand with Menaria for the fourth wicket.

For Assam, Arup Das and Pallavkumar Das picked up a wicket each.

Also Watch

First Published: October 14, 2016, 6:25 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 5154 117
3 New Zealand 3886 102
4 Australia 4599 102
5 England 5029 97
FULL Ranking