CricketNext GET APP

Ranji Trophy Group C Round-up: Jagadeesan, Yomahesh Keep TN in the Hunt

PTI | Updated: November 18, 2017, 6:18 PM IST
Ranji Trophy Group C Round-up: Jagadeesan, Yomahesh Keep TN in the Hunt

Representative image. (Getty Image)

Indore: Tamil Nadu wicketkeeper-batsman N Jagadeesan (94 batting) put on 115 runs for the unbroken sixth wicket with V Yomahesh (44 batting) to take Tamil Nadu to 191 for 6 on the second day in a Ranji Trophy Group 'C' match here.

In a must win match, the visitors were struggling at 76/6 with Madhya Pradesh's opening attack of Ishwar Pandey and Puneet Datey, who both finished with identical figures of three for 36, running through the much vaunted batting lineup.

Datey struck early by sending back Tamil Nadu captain Abhinav Mukund, having him bowled for five. Three balls later, he dismissed Vijay Shankar for a duck, to leave Tamil Nadu at 19 for 2.

Pandey then took out B Aparajith and M S Washington Sundar. B Indrajith fell after a defiant 25, followed by Malolan Rangarajan. Opener Jagadeesan, who had retired hurt, returned to
the middle and mounted a spirited fightback with Yomahesh.

The team still trails by 73 runs and the onus would be on the duo to help secure a lead. Earlier, Madhya Pradesh resuming at 224 for 7, added 40 runs to the score, thanks to No.11 batsman Ishwar Pandey's belligerence.

Pandey smashed three fours and two big sixes in his 17-ball knock of 29 before being caught by V Yomahesh off R Sai Kishore's bowling. K Vignesh bagged four wickets, conceding just 32 runs
from 24 overs. M Mohammed finished with three wickets.

Brief scores:

Madhya Pradesh 264 all out in 90.1 overs (Ankit Sharma 77, Ankit Dane 63, Ishwar Pandey 29, K Vignesh 4/32, M Mohammed 3/67) vs Tamil Nadu 191 for 6 in 67 overs (N Jagadeesan 94 batting, V Yomahesh 44 batting, Ishwar Pandey 3/36, P Datey 3/36).

At Ongole: Mumbai 332 all out in 132 overs (Prithvi Shaw 114, Siddhesh Lad 86, Dhawal Kulkarni 50 not out, Abhishek Nayar 35, B Ayyappa 4 for 110, K V Sasikanth 3 for 61) vs Andhra Pradesh 74 for 2 in 33 overs (Ricky Bhui 29 batting).

At Vadodara: Baroda 503 all out in 137.4 overs (Kedar Devdhar 104, N A Rathva 115 not out, Vishnu Solanki 109, Deepak Hooda 51, Basant Mohanty 5/85) vs Odisha 64 for 2 in 32 overs.
First Published: November 18, 2017, 6:18 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
FULL Ranking