starts in
days hours mins


All matches

Ranji Trophy, Rd 8, Group B wrap: Satish ton takes Vidarbha to 274/6

Press Trust of India |January 29, 2015, 7:13 PM IST
Ranji Trophy, Rd 8, Group B wrap: Satish ton takes Vidarbha to 274/6

Nagpur: Ganesh Satish scored his second century of the Ranji Trophy season to guide Vidarbha to 274 for six against Delhi on day one of the Group B match on Thursday.

The hosts were struggling at 47 for three before Satish shepherded them to recovery with an unbeaten 119 off 252 balls. Manan and Shivam Sharma took two wickets each for Delhi on a day when 94 overs were bowled.

Delhi are sitting pretty at the top of the group with 31 points while Vidarbha, on 17 points, need to work a lot harder to make the quarter-finals.

Shalabh Shrivastava (50) gave good support to Satish as they shared a crucial 122-run stand for the fourth wicket.

Both got together at a tough time after captain Subramaniam Badrinath perished without scoring.

While Shrivastava departed after his half century, Sumit Ruikar (33) hung around with Satish to move the innings forward.

Satish remained till end with the help of 10 boundaries.

Brief scores: Vidarbha 274/6 in 94 overs (Ganesh Satish 119 batting, Shalabh Shrivastava 50; Manan Sharma 2/62, Shivam Sharma 2/49).

Venugopal century takes Gujarat to 277/7

Valsad: Y Venugopal Rao smashed an aggressive century but got little support from his team-mates as Gujarat scored 277 for 7 on the opening day of their Ranji Trophy cricket match against Maharashtra on Thursday.

After electing to bat, Gujarat were reduced to 78 for two in the morning session and that brought Venugopal (104) at the crease and he anchored the home side innings being the last man out on the day at Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium.

As none of the other Gujarat batsmen made a mark on Thursday, they had just one substantial partnership - that of 82 between Venugopal and Manpreet Juneja (29) for the fifth wicket. Captain Parthiv Patel, who opened the innings was next highest scorer with 41.

Venugopal hit 13 fours and a six in his 165-ball knock.

At the draw of stumps, Rush Kalaria and Mehul Patel were batting on 24 and 6 respectively.

For Maharashtra, Anupam Sanklecha took three wickets while Samad Fallah chipped in with two. Akshay Darekar and Chirag Khurana bagged a wicket each.

Brief Scores:

Gujarat: 277 for 7 in 90 overs (Y Venugopal Rao 104; Anupam Sanklecha 3/62).

Mohanty, Behera rattle Punjab

Mohali: Basant Mohanty and Deepak Behera produced a devastating display of pace bowling to bundle out hosts Punjab for a paltry 167 in their first innings and give Odisha the upper-hand on the opening day.

Mohanty (4/43) and Behera (4/47) shared eight wickets between them to demolish Punjab at their home ground. Alok Mangaraj (2/50) also chipped in with two wickets.

Barring opener Jiwanjot Singh (24) and Taruwar Kohli (14), Punjab's no other top-order batsman could manage double digit scores as they fell flat in front of Mohanty and Behera's fiery bowling.

If not for a rearguard 112-ball 94-run last wicket partnership between Manpreet Gony and Sandeep Sharma, Punjab could have been bowled out under the 100-run mark.

At one stage Punjab were 73 for the loss of nine wickets, but Gony and Sharma saved the hosts from humiliation as they took the attack to the opposition to pile up runs.

Sharma (35) was the last wicket to fall but Gony remained unbeaten on 51 off 52 balls and struck six boundaries in the process.

At stumps, Odisha were 54 for one in 22 overs in reply to Punjab's 167.

Girja Rout was batting on 24, while Paresh Patel (27) was the lone Odisha wicket to depart bowled by Sharma (1/16).

Brief Scores:

Punjab 1st innings: 167 all out in 57.2 overs (Manpreet Gony 51 not out; Basant Mohanty 4/43, Deepak Behera 4/47).

Rana, Saini centuries take Haryana to 339/7

Lahli: Himanshu Rana and Nitin Saini struck sparkling centuries as they rescued Haryana after a top-order collapse and put them in a strong position by reaching 339 for 7 on the opening day against Rajasthan.

After being asked to bat, Haryana were reduced to 66 for four in the 19th over before Rana (149) and Saini (100) put on 205 runs for the fifth wicket in a brilliant partnership to take the home side out of trouble and then to a position of strength.

Rana, who hit 18 boundaries and a six in his 240-ball innings, was the last man dismissed on the day in the Group B match at the CH Bansi Lal Cricket Stadium.

Saini struck 14 fours in his 154-ball knock. At the draw of stumps, Amit Mishra and Kuldeep Hooda were batting on 5 and 4, respectively.

For Rajasthan, Aniket Choudhary took three wickets for 79 runs while Deepak Chahar grabbed two. Pankaj Singh and Tanveer-Ul-Haq got one wicket each.

Brief Scores:

Harayna: 338 for 7 in 89 overs (Himanshu Rana 149, Nitin Saini 100; Aniket Choudhary 3/79).


Cricket World Cup Points Table

5 4 1 0 8 +0.81
4 3 0 1 7 +2.16
4 3 0 1 7 +1.02
4 3 1 0 6 +1.55
5 2 2 1 5 -0.27
5 1 2 2 4 -1.77
5 1 3 1 3 +0.27
5 1 3 1 3 -0.20
5 1 3 1 3 -1.93
4 0 4 0 0 -1.63

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 5720 124
2 India 5990 122
3 New Zealand 4121 114
4 South Africa 4647 111
5 Australia 4805 109
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 Australia 5471 261
5 India 7273 260
see more