Get the app

Ranji Trophy, Rd 9, Group B, Day 3: Manan's five-for helps Delhi beat Punjab

Manan returned with a five-wicket haul as Delhi pulled off a dramatic 90-run win over Punjab.

Press Trust of India |February 8, 2015, 7:45 PM IST
Ranji Trophy, Rd 9, Group B, Day 3: Manan's five-for helps Delhi beat Punjab

Patiala: Manan Sharma returned with a five-wicket haul as Delhi pulled off a dramatic 90-run win over Punjab following two stunning batting collapses on the third day of their Ranji Trophy Group B match on Sunday.

Openers Unmukt Chand (56) and Gautam Gambhir (67) began the day for Delhi at 48 for none and they raised a solid 110-run stand but the visitors suffered a batting collapse to be all out for 192.

Delhi's four batsmen failed to open their account as Sandeep Sharma (3 for 33), Harbhajan Singh (3 for 51) and Gurkeerat Singh (3 for 20) effected the collapse by scalping three batsmen each.

There was another twist in the match as chasing a small 179-run target, Punjab folded for just 88 with Manan taking five wickets at the expense of 31 runs.

None of the Punjab batsmen could even touch 20-run mark with Mandeep Singh scoring 17 to be top scorer.

Varun Sood (2 for 40) began the rot by removing both the openers. He first bowled Gagan Khora (2) and then trapped talented Jiwanjot Singh (3).

Yuvraj Singh (15) and Gurkeerat Singh (15) resisted the Delhi attack for some time but could not carry on and Punjab kept losing one batsman after another.

Brief Scores: Delhi 249 and 192 all out in 78.4 overs (Unmukt Chand 56, Gautam Gambhir 67; Gurkeerat Singh 3 for 20). Punjab 263 and 88 all out in 34.4 overs (Mandeep Singh 17, Yuvraj Singh 15; Manan Sharma 5 for 31).

Joseph's 3/40 put Maharashtra in command

Continuing his good form, seamer Domnic Joseph took three more Vidarbha wickets to put Maharashtra in a commanding position as they will look for an outright win on the final day.

After forcing a follow-on on Saturday, Maharashtra on Sunday tightened the screw further on Vidarbha, reducing them to 274 for six in 100 overs, despite fine half centuries by Shalabh Shrivastava (54) and Ravi Jangid (66).

Joseph (3 for 40) was the most successsful bowler for Maharashtra, while Samad Fallah (1 for 41), Nikit Dhumal (1 for 67) and Chirag Khurana (1 for 28) took one wicket each.

At stumps, Urvesh Patel (44) and Shrikant Wagh (23) were at the crease at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, with Vidarbha leading by just 46 runs and four wickets remaining.

Shrivastava and Jangid shared a valuable 94-run partnership for the fifth wicket to ressurect Vibarbha's second innings after they were reduced to 83 for 4 in 42.3 overs.

Jangid then forged 59 runs with Patel before being dismissed by Fallah in the 91st over.

Resuming their second innings at 26 for no loss, Vidarbha suffered a twin blow early on, losing opener Sachin Katariya (12) and Ganesh Satish (0) in the 16th over bowled by Joseph.

Joseph then dismissed opener Faiz Fazal (41), while skipper S Badrinath (29) too could not capitalise on a good start as he was caught behind on Dhumal's delivery.

Khurana then broke the stand between Shrivastava and Jangid in the 63rd over, while Fallah send the latter in the 91st over.

Brief score: Maharashtra 342; Vidarbha 114 & 274 for 6 (f/o) in 100 overs (R Jangid 66; Domnic Joseph 3 for 40).

Odisha 155 runs away from win against Saurashtra

Odisha bowled themselves into a commanding position by skittling out Saurashtra for 152 in their second innings and were now only 155 runs away from an outright win with eight wickets in hand.

Saurasthra were 64 for six when the play began on the third day and they managed to add 88 more runs to their overnight total, setting Odisha a 283-run target.

Medium fast bowler Alok Mangaraj took three wickets but Saurashtra lower order batted with determination to add valuable runs. Overnight batsmen Jaydev Unadkat contributed 18 runs and Cheteshwar Pujara, batting at number nine, remained unbeaten on 39.

Odisha ended the day at at a comfortable 128 for two with Govinda Podder (41) and Anurag Sarangi (49) at the crease.

They have added 90 runs for the unconquered third wicket so far.

Odisha lost openers Paresh Patel (14) and Girija Rout (22) when the scorecard was reading only 32 but Podder and Sarangi ensured they the side does not suffer another blow.

Brief Scores: Saurashtra 218 and 152 all out in 66.5 overs. (Cheteshwar Pujara 39 not out, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 24; A Mangaraj 3 for 51). Odisha 88 and 128 for 2 in 45 overs. (Govinda Podder 41 batting, Anurag Sarangi 49 batting; S Trivedi 1 for 16).

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 5211 116
2 New Zealand 3959 110
3 Australia 4320 108
4 England 5253 105
5 South Africa 3537 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6967 124
2 India 7939 118
3 New Zealand 5347 116
4 South Africa 5602 112
5 Australia 5915 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 8926 270
2 Australia 7815 269
3 England 6407 267
4 India 12141 264
5 South Africa 6220 259
see more