CricketNext GET APP

SC Allows TNCA to Host TNPL Minus Outstation Players

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: July 11, 2018, 4:03 PM IST
SC Allows TNCA to Host TNPL Minus Outstation Players

File image of Tuti Patriots, winners of the 2016 edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League. (Image: TNPL)

New Delhi: The Supreme Court has made it clear that no outstation player can participate in the Tamil Nadu Premier League while allowing the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association to host the league starting today. TNCA had moved the Supreme Court for clarifications on the eligibility of participation of outstation players after the BCCI at its SGM had cleared the way for them to participate in domestic leagues conducted by state associations.

The SC affirmed Committee of Administrators’ (CoA) stipulation and said that any player not registered with state cricketing body can't play in the tournament.

Even though the BCCI at its SGM had approved participation of uncapped outstation players, the CoA had deemed the SGM “null and void” and sent a letter asking state units not to issue NOCs to play in the TNPL.

Speaking to CricketNext, a BCCI official welcomed the move as the careers of budding cricketers were at stake. “The organisers of the Tamil Nadu Premier League will be extremely pleased with the order. The tone and tenor of the CoA’s communication was such that they wanted to interfere with the internal tournaments of a state association. Something akin to the ICC telling the BCCI that you cannot have an IPL till we permit it. The Supreme Court’s order allowing the TNPL to go on, nips that in the bud,” he explained.

Commenting on the restriction on outstation players playing, despite the BCCI passing the proposal in its SGM, the official said that can be looked into once the BCCI’s autonomy is back.

“The participation of outstation players is something that just needs some tweaking with regard to the procedural aspects and that can be done once BCCI’s autonomy is back after consulting more stakeholders. What the Supreme Court has done today is, prevent an attempt to restrict the livelihood of 120 players, support staff and corporates that look to support the game,” he said.

After the court’s order in the morning, the CoA further wrote to the TNCA, a copy of which is in possession of CricketNext, and said: “The Committee of Administrators has been informed that apart from having 16 outstation players, there are also some outstation coaching/ support staff engaged by the franchisees, which is against the advisory. Notwithstanding the above, having considered the special facts and circumstances of the present case, the Committee of Administrators considers it appropriate to grant permission for conducting the third edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (“TNPL”) with the coaching/ support staff currently engaged by the franchisees.”

The TNCA had written back to the CoA on mail questioning the reason behind such a move and added that the CoA in its letter had shown complete disregard for the players and went against the constitution of the BCCI.

The letter from TNCA secretary RI Palani further stated that there had been outstation players playing in TNCA leagues over the years. “Currently, the TNCA league has several "outstation" players playing within its jurisdiction and this has been so for several decades. Eminent former crickets such as Sunil Gavaskar, MAK Pataudi, Salim Durrani, ML Jaishimha, GR Vishwanath have played in TNCA tournaments. Likewise players like Rahul Dravid, Zaheer Khan, Venkatesh Prasad, Vikram Rathore, Venkatapathy Raju, Arshad Hyub, Suith Somasundar have continued to play till recently.

“Even currently players like Piyush Chawla, Sandeep Sharma, Robin Bist, Shiker Bharath, AG Pradeep play in league tournaments organised by TNCA. We fail to understand how COA can seek to prevent uncapped young players from participating in this tournament and showcase their talent,” it said.
First Published: July 11, 2018, 11:27 AM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 South Africa 4280 110
3 New Zealand 3213 107
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking