CricketNext GET APP

Shikhar Dhawan Replaces Injured Murali Vijay for Sri Lanka Tests

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: July 17, 2017, 4:08 PM IST
Shikhar Dhawan Replaces Injured Murali Vijay for Sri Lanka Tests

Getty Images

New Delhi: Opener Shikhar Dhawan is set to replace Murali Vijay in the upcoming three-match Test series against Sri Lanka in the Island Nation. Vijay has complained of pain in his wrist while playing a preparatory match. The same wrist injury had troubled him during the last Test series against Australia at home.

BCCI sent a press release which read: “The senior selection committee on Monday named Shikhar Dhawan as the replacement for injured Murali Vijay in the Test team, which is scheduled to travel to Sri Lanka for a three-match Test series.

“Vijay, who had suffered a wrist injury during Australia’s tour of India, has complained of pain in his right wrist, while playing a preparatory match. The BCCI medical team has therefore advised that Vijay should continue his rehabilitation program.”

Having been ignored for the Test series, Dhawan is currently holidaying in Disneyland with his family. Shikhar Dhawan came into the series on the back of some stunning form in the Champions Trophy, he struggled to get going in the Caribbean after the first couple of games. He scored 87 in the first washed out match and then followed it up with another fluent knock of 63, but was dismissed rather cheaply in all the other matches. He will also be disappointed by the fact he could not convert his starts into something big.

Dhawan did show form in the lone T20I that India played against West Indies, but the opener failed to convert his 12 ball 23 into a big score. Evin Lewis once again turned out to be India's nemesis in the shortest format with yet another magnificent hundred in West Indies' comfortable nine wicket victory against India in the one-off T20.

Chasing a competitive target of 191, Lewis smashed his way to an unbeaten 125 off 62 balls with as many as 12 sixes and six fours as the reigning World T20 champions knocked off the runs in only 18.3 overs. It turned out to be a forgettable day for the bowling unit after a sub-par total on a batting belter as Lewis notched up the highest individual score by a West Indies batsman surpassing Chris Gayle.

INDIA SQUAD: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, W Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, M Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.
First Published: July 17, 2017, 4:07 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
FULL Ranking