CricketNext GET APP

Cricket South Africa to Send Squad to India for Spin Bowling Course

Press Trust of India | Updated: May 11, 2016, 9:51 AM IST
Cricket South Africa to Send Squad to India for Spin Bowling Course

Aaron Phangiso attends the South Africa team training session.

Johannesburg: Cricket South Africa (CSA) will send a squad of eight spin bowlers and six batsmen to attend a week-long spin bowling course in Mumbai from Saturday.

"The programme has been one of the major features on the CSA HP Skills Programme and has been held annually either in India or Sri Lanka," said CSA High Performance Manager, Vinnie Barnes.

The eight selected spin bowlers are Bjorn Fortuin, Simon Harmer, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Tshepo Ntuli, Aaron Phangiso, Dane Piedt, and Prenelan Subrayen.

The batsmen going on the course are Temba Bavuma, Reeza Hendricks, Smangaliso Nhlebela, Hector Ngobeni, Stiaan van Zyl, and Dane Vilas.

The group will be accompanied by CSA batting consultant HD Ackerman, and CSA spin bowling consultant Claude Henderson.

"Simon Harmer, Dane Piedt, Prenalen Subrayen and Keshav Maharaj who have been on previous spin camps, have seen the benefits of working with top Indian spin coaches," Barnes said.

"It has also become quite an important initiative to improve our batsmen s techniques and game plans against spin.

Temba Bavuma, Rilee Rossouw and Stiaan van Zyl are some of the batsmen who have credited their improvement of batting against spin to the spin camps (in the subcontinent)," Barnes added.
First Published: May 11, 2016, 9:51 AM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking