CricketNext GET APP

South Africa vs Bangladesh, 1st T20I Highlights: As It Happened

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: October 27, 2017, 1:33 AM IST

1st T20I, Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein 26 October, 2019

Toss won by South Africa (decided to bat)

South Africa beat Bangladesh by 20 runs

Man of the Match: AB de Villiers

South Africa vs Bangladesh, 1st T20I Highlights: As It Happened

Preview: Shakib Al Hasan will be Bangladesh’s third captain on a disappointing tour of South Africa as they seek to regain some pride in two Twenty20 internationals, starting in Bloemfontein Thursday. Bangladesh's all-time leading all-rounder was reappointed T20 captain after a seven-year gap following the retirement from the format of Mashrafe Mortaza. He takes over a squad that has already suffered humiliating defeats in two Test matches and three one-day internationals. So poorly have Bangladesh performed that Test captain Mushfiqur Rahim and one-day skipper Mortaza were unable to hide their frustration in comments to Bangladesh media.

Squads: South Africa: JP Duminy (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wkt), AB de Villiers, Robbie Frylinck, Beuran Hendricks, David Miller, Mangaliso Mosehle (wkt), Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi
Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Imrul Kayes, Liton Das (wkt), Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (wkt), Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 South Africa 4280 110
3 England 5310 108
4 New Zealand 3213 107
5 Australia 4143 101
FULL Ranking