CricketNext GET APP

Steve Smith to Play for Comilla Victorians in BPL 6

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: November 27, 2018, 10:37 PM IST
Steve Smith to Play for Comilla Victorians in BPL 6

(Image: Twitter)

Former Australia captain Steve Smith, who is currently serving a one-year ban from international and Australian domestic cricket, will play for Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) side Comilla Victorians in the sixth edition of the tournament.

Smith will begin his stint with the squad after the departure of Pakistan’s Shoaib Malik, since the latter will be recalled to the Pakistan team ahead of the series against New Zealand.

Besides Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft are also serving bans as a result of the fall-out from the Newlands ball-tampering scandal that rocked Australian cricket earlier this year.

The ban does not apply to domestic tournaments outside of Australia, which is why both Smith and Warner were able to play in the Canada-based Global T20 League earlier this year.

Smith will also feature in the next edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). Warner, however, turned down an offer to play in the PSL.

Warner will nevertheless be a part of the BPL and will represent the Sylhet Sixers in the tournament’s upcoming edition.

Smith and Warner’s ban finishes on March 29, 2019 while Bancroft’s ban ends on December 29 this year.

The BPL is set to begin from January 5, 2019.
First Published: November 27, 2018, 7:52 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 New Zealand 3570 108
3 South Africa 4397 105
4 Australia 4566 104
5 England 5490 104
FULL Ranking