Get the app

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Mumbai, Bengal Bow Out on a Winning Note

Mumbai registered a convincing 46-run victory over Uttar Pradesh in their final super league game but it wasn't enough to ensure their passage to the final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Cricketnext Staff |March 12, 2019, 8:34 PM IST
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Mumbai, Bengal Bow Out on a Winning Note

Mumbai registered a convincing 46-run victory over Uttar Pradesh in their final super league game but it wasn't enough to ensure their passage to the final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Siddhesh Lad was the star with bat and ball, smashing 62 runs and picking 3/23 in his two overs.

Mumbai were put into bat and in-form opener Jay Gokul Bista was removed for a first ball duck by Ankit Rajpoot, but then Lad and wicket-keeper Eknath Kerkar put on a 96-run stand. Kerkar was run out for 46, missing out on a deserved half-century.

Captain Shreyas Iyer joined Lad in the middle and continued striking the ball cleanly. He smashed his way to 43 from just 27 deliveries which lifted Mumbai to an above par score of 183/7 in their 20 overs.

It could have been a lot more but UP kept picking wickets in the latter half of the innings. Rajpoot picked three wickets but also conceded 47 runs in his 4 overs. Mohit Jangra and Mohsin Khan picked a wicket each.

UP got off to the worst possible start in chase - losing two of the top three players for a 0. Shivam Dube and Shardul Thakur were the wreckers in chief, reducing UP to 24/4, before Rinku Singh (19) and Priyam Garg's (23) 36-run stand stopped the collapse. However, both of them departed in quick succession which ended UP's hopes of a miraculous comeback. The lower order used the long handle to tonk a few boundaries but Lad's off-break helped clean the tail, he ended with figures of 2-1-23-3.

Thakur and Dube ended with figures of 3/9 and 3/31 respectively. UP ended the super league stage without a win, ending bottom of Group B. Mumbai meanwhile finish on 12 points.

Maharashtra warm up for final with easy win

Nikhil Naik scored an unbeaten 95 as Maharashtra registered a 21-run victory over Railways in their final super league fixture.

Naik smashed eight sixes and four fours, scoring at a strike rate of 163.79 as Maharashtra reached 177 in their allotted 20 overs. He was aided by Naushad Shaikh, who scored a fine 59 off just 39 balls. He also picked 2/8 with the ball. The two put together a 119-run stand for the third wicket, scoring bulk of the runs.

Railways started the chase well as Mrunal Devdhar and Pratham Singh put together a 68-run stand for the opening wicket in just 7.1 overs. But they then collapsed with just three other players reaching double digits. Gandhar Bhatawadekar scored 25 and Manjeet Singh scored 19 to provide some sort of respectability to the score. However, Railways were dismissed for 156 in the end.

Samad Fallah picked 3/27 and was well aided by Satyajeet Bacchav (2/22) and Divyang Himganekar (2/26).

Ghosh, Saha Star in Bengal's Seven-wicket Win over Gujarat

wriddhiman saha

Medium pacer Sayan Ghosh's maiden T20 five-wicket haul derailed Gujarat's batting unit as they were knocked over for just 121 in 19.3 overs. Wriddhiman Saha then crafted a crucial 46-ball 52 to ensure Bengal got over the line with seven wickets in hand. The result though had no bearing on the standings as Maharashtra had earlier in the day already secured their place in the finals with four out of four wins.

Electing to bat first the Gujarat innings failed to take flight at any stage with only Axar Patel providing some defiance with a 44-ball 53. Gujarat were 54/7 at one stage and it seemed they would end up with a much lesser score but Axar and Hemang Patel carved a crucial 54-run stand for the eighth wicket to help their side to a respectable total.

Gujarat lost Parthiv Patel in the very first over run out for 6 before captain Priyank Panchal was dismissed by Ashoke Dinda for 5. Piyush Tanwar, coming in at No.3 played a few audacious shots during his 20-ball 29 but his wicket brought about a collapse which saw Gujarat lose five wickets for just 13 runs.

Akash Deep struck first with the wicket of Tanwar while Writtick Chatterjee got rid of Chirag Gandhi for 3. Ghosh then came into his own picking up three wickets in an over to leave Gujarat tottering.

Axar and Hemang (17) took their side past the 100-run mark before the latter became Akash Deep's second victim of the day. Axar fell soon after his half-century, which included two fours and two sixes.

Shreevats Goswami, who has been in delightful form this tournament got Bengal off to a flying start in the chase crafting 22 in 16 balls which included four fours. But Jayveer Sinh struck twice in two balls to stifle the progress. Experienced campaigners Wriddhiman Saha and Manoj Tiwary then stitched a 40-run stand for the third wicket to keep the chase on track.

While Tiwary fell for a run-a-ball 18, Saha got to his 16th T20 half-century taking his side over the line with 1.4 overs to spare. Vivek Singh was unbeaten on 28.

Related stories

Also Watch

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4027 115
2 New Zealand 2829 109
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3778 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 India 8099 261
5 Australia 5471 261
see more