Home» Cricket Home» News»Tait named in preliminary Trophy squad

Tait named in preliminary Trophy squad

Tait named in preliminary Trophy squad

Newcomer Beau Casson was left out of a 30-man probables list.

Sydney: Test newcomer Beau Casson was left out of a 30-man preliminary Australian squad announced on Thursday for the Champions Trophy in Pakistan in September.

The left-arm wrist spinner played in the final Test of the recent series against the West Indies in the Caribbean following Stuart MacGill's sudden retirement, but selectors said he needed to play more one-day cricket.

"Beau Casson is unlucky to miss out after a promising start in Test cricket but needs more exposure in one-day cricket before being considered for Australian selection," chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said in announcing the initial squad.

Hilditch said paceman Ben Hilfenhaus was not considered because of injury and former Ashes fast bowler Shaun Tait was included as he continues his rehabilitation program to resume playing cricket.

Tait, the International Cricket Council's emerging player of 2007, last January sought a break from cricket citing physical and emotional exhaustion.

"Shaun had a significant impact in our World Cup victory and at his best is a formidable weapon in one-day cricket," Hilditch said.

"The squad recognises the continued success of the one-day side and its outstanding efforts in the West Indies, together with the strong performance of our young emerging talent in the domestic one-day cup.

"While Australia is clearly in a rebuilding phase, it was very pleasing to see the efforts of the new players in the West Indies and the manner in which the senior players have taken to the role of mentoring their development.

"The squad includes several young spinners, and closer to final selection a decision will be made as to the make-up of the squad and whether a specialist spinner needs to be added to the final 15."

Xavier Doherty, Ryan Harris, Brett Geeves and Tim Paine are the newcomers to the Australian squad. The deadline for submitting the final squad of 15 players for the ICC Champions Trophy is on August 11.

first published:July 10, 2008, 11:09 IST