CricketNext GET APP

The Decade Long Journey of the Women’s World T20

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: November 6, 2018, 12:45 PM IST
The Decade Long Journey of the Women’s World T20

The ICC Women's World T20 has witnessed a fair amount of change since its inception back in 2009. Only eight teams participated in the first three tournaments - in 2009, 2010 and 2012. However, as the women’s game grew in popularity, the number of teams have been increased to ten and the same number will compete for the title in West Indies from Friday. The hosts are also the defending champions but historically, Australia has been the most successful team with three titles to their name.

2009, England - Winners - England


The inaugural women's World T20 saw the hosts lift the trophy. England were unbeaten throughout the tournament and defeated New Zealand by six wickets in the final at Lord's. India, led by Jhulan Goswami, qualified for the semi-finals but lost by 52 runs to New Zealand. England's Claire Taylor was named as the player of the series. Australia's Aimee Watkins (200 runs) and England's Holly Calvin (9 wickets) were the top run-scorers and wicket-takers respectively.

2010, West Indies - Winners- Australia


This time it was the Australian side led by Alex Blackwell who came out on top, defeating arch-rivals New Zealand by 3 runs in a close final. Goswami again led India as they managed to reach the semi-final before losing to eventual champions Australia by seven-wickets in a one-sided contest. Australia's Nicole Browne was named the player of the series. India's Diana David and Australia's Nicola Browne were the highest wicket-takers with nine wickets each. Sara McGlashan with 147 runs was the highest run-scorer.

2012, Sri Lanka - Winners - Australia


Australia defended their title with a thrilling four-run victory over England in the final. India had an extremely disappointing campaign under the leadership of Mithali Raj as they lost all their matches and finished at the bottom spot. It was a tournament to remember for England's Charlotte Edwards as she finished with most runs (172) and was also named the player of the series. Australia's Julie Hunter (11) was the highest wicket-taker.

2014, Bangladesh - Winners - Australia

Australia Women 2014 Champions IMAGE: ICC

This was the first edition of the ten-team format with Ireland and Bangladesh making their first appearances. Yet again, the final saw Australia clash against England and take the honours as they won the match by six wickets. India had a mixed campaign, winning two and losing two games, they failed to make it to the semi-finals but sealed a spot in the 2016 edition with a victory over Pakistan. England's Anya Shrubsole was the player of the series with 13 wickets to her name, she was also the highest wicket-taker. Meg Lanning finished as the highest run-scorer with 257 runs.

2016, India - Winners - West Indies


Yet again, the tournament ran concurrently with the men's event. However, it was a disappointing campaign for the hosts as they managed to win only one game and failed to qualify for the knockout stage. India's solitary win came against arch-rivals Pakistan. Australia squared off against West Indies in the final and a comprehensive eight-wicket win for the West Indies at Eden Gardens saw them snatch the title from Australia. West Indies' Stafanie Taylor was named as the player of the series and also had the highest runs (246) in the tournament. New Zealand's Leigh Kasperek, Sophie Devine and Deandra Dottin were joint highest wicket-takers with nine wickets each.
First Published: November 5, 2018, 3:45 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
FULL Ranking