CricketNext GET APP

Virat Kohli All Set to Surpass AB De Villiers & Sourav Ganguly in His 200th ODI

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: October 22, 2017, 5:00 PM IST
Virat Kohli All Set to Surpass AB De Villiers & Sourav Ganguly in His 200th ODI

Virat Kohli (AP Images)

New Delhi: India skipper Virat Kohli is all set to surpass the likes of AB De Villiers and Sachin Tendulkar in the 200th ODI, when the Men In Blue lock horns against New Zealand in the first match of the three-match series at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

This match will be Kohli's 200th in the 50-over format of the game and he will become only the 14th Indian and 72nd cricketer overall to reach this milestone. Here is the list of the other Indians who have played 200 ODIs for the country -

Sachin Tendulkar: 463
Rahul Dravid: 344
Mohammed Azharuddin: 334
Sourav Ganguly: 311
MS Dhoni: 306
Yuvraj Singh: 304
Anil Kumble: 271
Virender Sehwag: 251
Harbhajan Singh: 236
Javagal Srinath: 229
Kapil Dev: 225
Suresh Raina: 223
Zaheer Khan: 200
Virat Kohli: 199*

So far, Kohli has slammed 8,767 ODI runs in 199 matches and even if he gets dismissed for a duck on Sunday, he will set a new milestone of highest run scored after playing 200 matches. Currently, South African star AB de Villiers holds the record of having scored most number of runs after playing 200 ODIs. While the Indian record currently rests with legendary India skipper Sourav Ganguly.

Here is the list of the same -

Virat Kohli* (IND): 8,767 (in 199 ODIs)
AB de Villiers (SA): 8,621
Sourav Ganguly (IND): 7,747
Sachin Tendulkar (IND): 7,305
Ricky Ponting (AUS): 7,255
Jacques Kallis (SA): 7,110
MS Dhoni (IND): 6,632
Inzamam-ul-Haq (PAK): 6,475
Rahul Dravid (IND): 6,242
Kumar Sangakkara (SL): 5,826
Mohammed Azharuddin (IND): 5,399
Sanath Jayasuriya (SL): 5,242
Mahela Jayawardene (SL): 5,178

In the last one year, Kohli has scored an impressive 1,555 runs at a strike rate closer to almost 100. Also, Kohli slammed five centuries during this time-frame and that has seen him tied with Australia great Ricky Ponting (30) in the list of most ODI tons. Kohli is now only behind Tendulkar (49) in this illustrious list.

Squads: India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shardul Thakur.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, George Worker and Ish Sodhi.
First Published: October 22, 2017, 4:40 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 4397 116
2 England 5310 108
3 South Africa 3712 106
4 New Zealand 2834 105
5 Australia 3663 102
FULL Ranking