CricketNext GET APP

Kohli Equals Ponting's Record of 9 Consecutive Series Wins

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: December 7, 2017, 3:01 PM IST
Kohli Equals Ponting's Record of 9 Consecutive Series Wins

File image of Virat Kohli. (PTI)

When India beat Sri Lanka 1-0 in the recently concluded three Test match series at the Ferozeshah Kotla in New Delhi, yet another milestone was unlocked for the Indian captain Virat Kohli. The series win was a record equalling ninth for India which means Kohli, has now equalled former Australian captain Ricky Ponting’s record of the most successive series wins as captain.

The Ricky Ponting led Australia won nine series’ on the bounce from 2005 to 2008. Only once before has a similar feat been achieved, when England registered nine straight series triumphs between 1884 and 1892.

The run machine that is Kohli was also named as the Man of the Match and Man of the Series for his stellar performance against the Islanders. Virat amassed 610 runs in the series, including two consecutive double centuries, at an astounding average of 152.50.

Kohli who won’t be playing the ODIs and Twenty20 series against the Lankans, finishes the year with 2818 international runs across all formats. He scored 1059 runs in 10 Tests, 1460 runs in 26 ODIs and 299 runs in 10 Twenty20 internationals including 11 hundreds (three double centuries).

The 29-year-old however remains third on the list of most number of runs in a calendar year behind Ponting’s tally of 2833 in 2005 and Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara with a total of 2868 runs in 2014.

Also Watch

First Published: December 7, 2017, 2:57 PM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3634 125
2 South Africa 3589 112
3 Australia 3499 106
4 New Zealand 2354 102
5 England 3772 97
FULL Ranking