CricketNext GET APP

Virat Kohli Receives Padma Shri Award at Rashtrapati Bhavan

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: March 31, 2017, 12:49 AM IST
Virat Kohli Receives Padma Shri Award at Rashtrapati Bhavan

Photo Credit: Reuters

New Delhi: Indian cricket skipper Virat Kohli, Paralympian Deepa Malik and hockey captain P.R. Sreejesh were honoured with the Padma Shri by President Pranab Mukherjee at a civil investiture ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan here on Thursday.

Kohli has been in outstanding form over the last season, scoring runs across all formats. He smashed 1215 runs in Test cricket in 2016 and became the first man to slam double hundreds in four successive series.

Also, the Indian skipper led the Test team with great aplomb, winning all four series against New Zealand, England, Bangladesh and Australia.

Besides Kohli, Sreejesh and Deepa Malik, five other sports-persons were named for the prestigious Padma Shri when the honours list was declared on the Republic Day on January 26.

They included Rio Olympics bronze medallist wrestler Sakshi Malik, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, Paralympian Mariyappan Thangavelu, discus thrower Vikas Gowda and blind cricket team captain Shekhar Naik.

The dignitaries presented on the occasion were Vice President Mohd. Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

((With IANS Inputs))
First Published: March 31, 2017, 12:49 AM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
FULL Ranking