Get the app

Warner Doesn't Change Strike After Over, Umpires Caught Napping

PTI |April 12, 2017, 11:20 PM IST
Warner Doesn't Change Strike After Over, Umpires Caught Napping

Mumbai: The poor performance of the Indian umpires came under spotlight after an embarrassing error from on-field umpires CK Nandan and Nitin Menon, who allowed Sunrisers' David Warner take strike after hitting a boundary off the last delivery of 6th over against Mumbai Indians.

In the incident Warner glided Jasprit Bumrah's last ball of the sixth over to the third-man fence and then, surprisingly, went on to take strike off the first ball of the next over from Mitchell McClenaghan.

Neither Nandan nor Menon noticed the batsman's mistake and surprisingly TV umpire YC Barde too did not bring it to their notice and Warner faced the first ball of the seventh over.

In the last game at this very venue, the same pair of on-field umpires was on duty when two MI batsmen were wrongly given out -- the more glaring being the leg before decision against home team captain Rohit Sharma against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Sharma remonstrated with umpire Nandan and earned the wrath of the match referee who reprimanded him for breaching the IPLs Code of Conduct

Team Rankings

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3778 105
5 Australia 2640 98
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
see more
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7365 283
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4196 262
4 India 8099 261
5 Australia 5471 261
see more
Loading...