CricketNext GET APP

Marcus Labuschagne Becomes First Player to be Penalised for 'Fake Fielding' Under New ICC Rules

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: September 30, 2017, 10:10 AM IST
Marcus Labuschagne Becomes First Player to be Penalised for 'Fake Fielding' Under New ICC Rules

The first player to be penalised for fake fielding.

Queensland player Marnus Labuschagne became the first cricketer to be penalised 'fake fielding' under the new International Cricket Council (ICC) rules implemented from September 28.

The incident took place during a match between Queensland Bulls and Cricket Australia XI. Labuschagne dived and tried to stop the ball hit by Cricket Australia XI batsman Param Uppal, but missed it completely. He tried to fool the batsman by faking a throw and umpires took action against him.

With this law-breaking on-field reaction from Labuschagne, Queensland Bulls were penalised 5 runs. The cricket law was broken within 24 hours of its introduction globally.

According to the MCC's new Law 41.5: "it is unfair for any fielder willfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the
striker has received the ball."

The umpires have the discretion to award five penalty runs if they determine that such deception is wilful.

Summarising the Law changes, the MCC stated specifically that mock fielding, "where a fielder feigns to field the ball and/or feigns to throw a non-existent ball in an attempt to prevent the batsmen running", was regarded as unfair and was a target of this new Law.

Under new rules effective from Thursday, cricket players can be -- like in football -- ordered off the field if they commit major offences.

Threatening to assault an umpire, making inappropriate and deliberate physical contact with an umpire, physically assaulting a player or any other person and committing any other act of violence will be deemed Level 4 offence -- warranting marching orders.

A player can now be sent off the field for the rest of the match if a Level 4 offence is committed. Level 1 to 3 offences will continue to be dealt with under the ICC Code of Conduct.Code of Conduct.

First Published: September 30, 2017, 10:10 AM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
FULL Ranking