Home » Cricket Home » News » Watson, Tait in Australia's T20I squad against India; Warner returns for ODIs

Watson, Tait in Australia's T20I squad against India; Warner returns for ODIs

(Photo Credit: Getty Images)

(Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Among the notable omissions from the T20 squad are in-form batsman George Bailey and allrounder Mitchell Marsh. The 17-man squad also includes uncapped Travis Head and Andrew Tye.

Australia on Monday named a powerful 17-man squad for the three-match Twenty20 international series against India this month and recalled fast bowler Shaunt Tait and veteran allrounder Shane Watson with an eye on the upcoming ICC World Twenty20 to be held in India.

However, Test captain Steve Smith and his deputy David Warner will play only in the opening T20I in Adelaide on January 26 before sitting out the other games to prepare for the first ODI against New Zealand in Auckland on February 3. The T20 squad will be led by Aaron Finch.

Among the notable omissions from the T20s are George Bailey and Mitchell Marsh. Both are part of the ongoing five-match ODI series, which Australia have already secured having won the first three matches in a row.

Besides announcing the squad for the T20I series, Cricket Australia also revealed the names that will feature in the final two ODIs of the ongoing series against India, with David Warner returning from his paternity leave and offspinner Nathan Lyon being recalled.

Lyon was also named in the T20 squad.

"Our choice of 17 for the KFC T20Is gives us a chance to look at some options ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in India," said national selector Rod Marsh.

The World T20 starts March 8 with the final on April 3 in Kolkata.

Australia have opted for experience and form for the India series, picking the stars of the Big Bash league.

"Shane Watson has earned his recall to Australian colours through a combination of his experience, especially in short-form cricket, the all-round package he offers and the fact he is bang in form at the moment, having put performances on the board for the Sydney Thunder," said Marsh.

"Shaun Tait returns on the basis that he is the quickest bowler going around in Australia at the moment and he offers us that explosive option if we choose to use it.

"Chris Lynn, Travis Head and Andrew Tye have made irresistible cases for inclusion off the back of individual excellence in the KFC BBL and we are delighted to offer them the opportunity to push their claims for inclusion in the ICC World Twenty20," Marsh added.

"In terms of leg-spin, Cameron Boyce has once again impressed in domestic action and deserves his spot."

The selectors said they regretted not being able to find places for Bailey and Mitchell Marsh but noted that the door remains open to the World Twenty20 squad.

"We know what both those players are capable of, and both have significant experience of playing Twenty20 cricket in India," Marsh said

"But we want them to continue to press their cases for inclusion while we take this opportunity to look at other contenders."

The second T20I takes place in Melbourne on January 29 while the final game will be in Sydney on January 31.

Squad for last two ODIs: Steve Smith (c), Aaron Finch, David Warner, George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Scott Boland, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh

T20I squad: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Shaun Marsh, Cameron Boyce, Nathan Lyon, Chris Lynn, Travis Head, Kane Richardson, Andrew Tye, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait