CricketNext GET APP

WBBL: Harmanpreet Sparkles with Bat and in the Field in Sydney Thunder Win

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: December 15, 2018, 1:42 PM IST
WBBL: Harmanpreet Sparkles with Bat and in the Field in Sydney Thunder Win

Harmanpreet Kaun in action in the Women's Big Bash League. (Getty Images)

While one Indian captain was putting on an exhibition at the start of the innings at Perth, another was putting on a different kind of show at Hobart. Harmanpreet Kaur produced some sensational strokes against Adelaide Strikers as she helped Sydney Thunder seal a six-wicket win on Saturday.

Chasing 133, Rachael Priest (58*) and Kaur (33 off 22) took Thunder home in just 17.3 overs.

Kaur got the ball rolling very early in her innings, taking just three balls to score her first boundary. An over later, she smashed two consecutive sixes off medium pacer Tahlia McGrath, from a no-ball and then off the following free-hit.

Kaur then produced arguably the best shot of the game, moving down the track, getting to the pitch of the ball and lofting leg-spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington over the cover region for a six.

However, the 28-year-old was not able to take the side home. After smashing a boundary, Kaur tried to clear the midwicket boundary on the very next ball but was unable to do so, handing a simple catch to Bridget Patterson in the deep. She was dismissed in the 14th over of the run-chase, with the Thunder needing just 31 from 39 balls.

While her side did end up losing captain Alex Blackwell (8) late in the run-chase, opener Rachael Priest (58*) and Nicola Carey (11*) eventually took Thunder to the target with 15 balls to spare. It was not just with the bat, Kaur even shone on the field earlier in the day. The all-rounder pulled off a sensational catch to remove Tahlia McGrath just on the edge of the inner circle for the first wicket.

Despite Priest’s efforts, it was Suzie Bates who took the player of the match award for her valiant unbeaten 79 for the Strikers, carrying her bat through the innings, with the next highest score being 13 in the 132-run innings.
First Published: December 15, 2018, 1:28 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5007 116
2 South Africa 4280 110
3 England 5310 108
4 New Zealand 3213 107
5 Australia 4143 101
FULL Ranking