Women’s T20 Challenge to Take Place During IPL Playoffs

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: April 24, 2019, 9:24 AM IST
Women’s T20 Challenge to Take Place During IPL Playoffs

A three-team tournament called the Women’s T20 Challenge will take place during the IPL 2019 playoffs, the BCCI announced on Monday (April 23).

The round robin matches of the tournament will be played on May 6, 8 and 9 while the final will be played on May 11 with all matches taking place at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium in Jaipur.

The tournament will comprise of the Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity – all of whom will play each other before the two teams with the most points contest the final. While the full list of players is yet to be confirmed, Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur are expected to lead the three sides.

“The Women’s T20 will be made up of three teams playing four matches in Jaipur as standalone games during the 2019 IPL Playoff week,” BCCI said in a press release.

“The teams will comprise current and future stars of Indian cricket playing alongside a selection of the world’s best players. The combined strength of talent on display will showcase the quality of women’s cricket."

All matches are expected to be broadcast on the Star Sports Network.

The BCCI had experimented with an Exhibition Game that was played last year prior to the first play-off game of the IPL in Mumbai. The Mandhana-led Trailblazers had clashed with the Harmanpreet-led Supernovas with the latter winning by three wickets in a thrilling encounter. Elite women cricketers such as Alyssa Healy, Suzie Bates, Ellyse Perry, Meg Lanning and Sophie Devine had taken part in the match last time around.

This four-match tournament is an extension of the encounter played last year and the first step towards a full-fledged Women's IPL. Plenty of prominent names from the women's game are expected to congregate for the T20 Challenge.


May 6 - Supernovas vs Trailblazers

May 8 - Trailblazers vs Velocity

May 9 - Supernovas vs Velocity

May 11 - Final
First Published: April 23, 2019, 9:30 PM IST

Also Watch

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
FULL Ranking