CricketNext GET APP

Yuzvendra Chahal Looks to Become Leading Wicket-taker of 2017 in Second T20I Against New Zealand

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: November 4, 2017, 5:27 PM IST
Yuzvendra Chahal Looks to Become Leading Wicket-taker of 2017 in Second T20I Against New Zealand

File image of India cricketer Yuzvendra Chahal. (AP Image)

New Delhi: Ace spinner Yuzvendra Chahal will look to continue his rich wicket-taking form when India lock horns against New Zealand in the second T20I at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on Saturday.

Chahal was one of the pick of the bowlers in the first match as well — where he ended the innings with 2/26 in four overs — as the hosts thrashed the Kiwis by 53 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

2017 has been an exceptional year for Chahal as far as the shortest format of the game is concerned. The India spinner has taken this year’s best T20I figures (6/25 v England) and he is only a few wickets shy of the top spot in the list of the leading wicket-takers of 2017.

Rashid Khan: 17 wickets in 10 matches
Kesrick Williams: 17 wickets in 9 matches
Yuzvendra Chahal: 14 wickets in 7 matches
Imran Tahir: 14 wickets in 9 matches
Shadab Khan: 14 wickets in 10 matches

Chahal is just three wickets shy of both Rashid and Williams record in this calendar year but it must be noted that the Indian star has played three and two matches less than the aforementioned bowlers respectively.

Also, amongst the bowlers to have bowled at least 20 overs in T20Is this year, Chahal’s bowling strike rate (ball/wicket) is second only to Windies star Williams. Here is the list of the top-5 bowlers according to their strike rates in 2017.

Kesrick Williams: 11.1
Yuzvendra Chahal: 11.7
Lasith Malinga: 12
Rashid Khan: 12.3
Carlos Brathwaite: 12.7

Chahal is having a dream year in the T20Is and because of that, he is not far behind Ravichandran Ashwin's record of most T20I wickets taken by an Indian spinner in a calendar year.

Ravichandra Ashwin: 23 wickets in 17 matches (2016)
Ravindra Jadeja: 17 wickets in 17 matches (2016)
Yuvraj Singh: 15 wickets in 10 matches (2012)
Yuzvendra Chahal: 14 wickets in 7 matches (2017)
Ravichandra Aswin: 11 wickets in 7 matches (2014)

Considering India are supposed to play five more T20Is in 2017 (2 against New Zealand and 3 against Sri Lanka), and with the kind of form that Chahal is in this year, expect the star bowler to break few of these records when the curtains finally come down on this season.

Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, KL Rahul.

New Zealand:
Kane Williamson (capt), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

First Published: November 4, 2017, 1:50 AM IST

Live TV

Team Rankings

1 India 5313 121
2 South Africa 4484 115
3 Australia 4174 104
4 New Zealand 3489 100
5 England 4829 99
FULL Ranking