No Pakistan team in CLT20 as India deny visa to Faisalabad Wolves

New Delhi: The prevailing political tensions between India and Pakistan has meant that Pakistan's T20 champions, the Faisalabad Wolves, will not be travelling to India for the Champions League Twenty20 tournament that gets underway on the 17th of September.

With less than a week to go, sources have told CNN-IBN that visas will not be granted to the team for the tournament. CNN-IBN has been told by government sources that security concerns have led to the decision.

Faisalabad, the only Pakistan team to participate in this year's CLT20, were scheduled to play their first qualifying match on the 17th September in Mohali. Meanwhile, sources in the BCCI close to the development have told CNN-IBN that the qualifiers will be played with the other three teams only.

A senior source in the government told CNN-IBN, "As a matter of abundant precautions taking into account security requirements, it was felt that at the current juncture, it would not be possible to provide necessary security arrangements. Therefore, it was advised that security necessary couldn't be provided, and thus visas are unlikely to be issued."

Team Rankings

1 Australia 3028 116
2 New Zealand 2406 115
3 India 3085 114
4 England 3882 105
5 Sri Lanka 2454 91
FULL Ranking
1 England 5405 123
2 India 5819 119
3 New Zealand 3716 116
4 Australia 3941 109
5 South Africa 3345 108
FULL Ranking
1 Australia 6047 275
2 England 5959 271
3 India 9319 266
4 Pakistan 6009 261
5 South Africa 4380 258
FULL Ranking