CricketNext GET APP

Bumrah & Bhuvneshwar Back, Shami Axed for Final Three ODIs Against Windies

Cricketnext Staff | Updated: October 25, 2018, 6:22 PM IST

Pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been drafted into the 15-man squad for the last three One-Day Internationals between India and the Windies, the Board of Control for Cricket In India (BCCI) announced on Thursday.

Mohammed Shami, who had two average games leaking runs aplenty on each occasion, has been dropped in the only change to the squad that was named for the opening two ODIs.

Bumrah, the No.1 ranked ODI bowler on the ICC charts, and Bhuvneshwar have been the mainstay of the Indian bowling lineup for the last two years. The duo was rested for the first two games with the selectors keeping their workload in mind. The pacers in recent times have suffered from plenty of injury concerns as was evidenced during India's recent tour to England.

Now, fit and raring the duo will be keen on stemming the flow of runs which has been the theme of the series so far. Shami looked particularly out of sorts in the two games returning figures of 2/81 and 1/59 often missing his mark against the likes of Shimron Hetmyer and Shai Hope. Even Umesh Yadav has lacked rhythm managing just a solitary wicket so far. The pacer though held onto his place in the side along with the third seamer Khaleel Ahmed who played the opening ODI.

The batting order looks largely settled though with most batsmen already getting a good hit out in the opening two ODIs.

India had registered a comfortable eight-wicket victory in the first outing in Guwahati with clinical centuries by Virat Kohli (140) and Rohit Sharma (152) helping them chase down a stiff 323-run target, while the second ODI in Visakhapatnam on Wednesday turned out to be a nail-biter with the game eventually ending in a tie.

The two teams will now lock horns in the third ODI which will be staged at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on October 27. The fourth and fifth encounters will be played in Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram on October 29 and November 1 respectively.

India squad: Virat Kohli(c), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (WK), Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, K Khaleel Ahmed, Lokesh Rahul, Umesh Yadav

First Published: October 25, 2018, 3:53 PM IST

Team Rankings

1 India 3631 113
2 New Zealand 2547 111
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 3663 105
5 Australia 2640 98
FULL Ranking