WATCH | The Laws of Cricket Challenge, Episode 11 With KKR Captain Dinesh Karthik

Ever wondered how much 'cricket' cricketers know? Watch India, Kolkata Knight Riders and Tamil Nadu wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik take up the quiz on Laws of Cricket. 10 questions: 4 Easy, 3 Medium and 3 Tough. 3 lifelines.

QUESTIONS

Easy section

1. A captain chooses to bat first after winning the toss and notifies the umpires and referee. After the coach's input, he asks the opposing captain if he can change to bowling. The captain agrees. Can the change be accepted?

A: Yes, he can change
B: No, can't be changed
C: The match referee will decide which team will bat first
D: The toss will be re-done

2. ODI: A team is chasing a target of 180 runs. They are 100 for 0 in 19.2 overs when rain stops play. No further play is possible. According to DLS, they should be 60 for 0 in 20 overs, which they have comfortably crossed. What is the result?

A: No result
B: Tie
C: Chasing team wins

3. A wicketkeeper's hand is marginally in front of the stumps when a bowler starts his run up. However, the keeper withdraws his hand behind the stumps before the ball is delivered. The square-leg umpire notices this and:

A: Ignores it as the keeper got his glove back
B: Calls a no ball
C: Calls a dead ball

4. T20I Super Over: Jasprit Bumrah bowl the Super Over after a tied match. The super over is tied, so the game goes into another Super Over. Can Bumrah bowl the second Super Over?

A: Yes
B: No
C: Yes, if opposition captain agrees



Medium section

5. An incoming batsman has 3 minutes time to be in a position to take guard following a wicket in ODIs, to avoid being Timed Out. What is the allowed Time Limit in a T20I?

A: 3 minutes
B: 5 minutes
C: 1.5 minutes
D: No limit

6. The ball hits the striker's bat and goes straight towards the stumps in the air (doesn't bounce). To protect his wicket, the striker hits the ball away. However, the ball goes straight to a fielder who catches it. What happens?

A: Out caught
B: Out hit the ball twice
C: Out obstructing the field
D: Not out

7. The ball hits the striker's bat and goes straight towards the stumps in the air (doesn't bounce). The wicketkeeper standing up to the stumps gets ready to catch it. To prevent the ball hitting the stumps, the striker hits the ball away and it goes for 4. What happens?

A: Not out, dead ball
B: Not out, 4 runs
C: Out obstructing the field
D: Out hit the ball twice



Tough section

8. ODI match: 1 ball, 6 to win. Batsman hits in the air, the fielder in the boundary realises he can't reach it, so extends his cap and 'catches' the ball. The batsmen do not run. How many runs are given, if any? Who wins?

A: Batsman is caught, fielding team wins
B: 5 runs penalty, match is tied
C: 5 runs penalty, match is not over yet
D: The 6 is given, batting team wins

9. The bowler oversteps, and striker hits the ball in air to the deep. A fielder catches the ball and instantly throws in the air in celebration without realising it's a no-ball. At that instance, the batsmen had run 2 runs. The ball lands outside the boundary rope. How many runs are given?

A: 1 (no ball)
B: 3 runs (no ball + 2)
C: 7 runs (no ball + 6)
D: 9 runs (no ball + 2 + 6)

10. T20I. While delivering a ball, the bowler's hand which has the ball INADVERTENTLY clips the bails at his end with the non-striker out of his crease. The ball is delivered, and the striker is bowled. What happens?

A: Striker out bowled
B: Non striker run out
C: No ball, nobody is out
D: Dead ball, nobody is out



ANSWERS

1.B (no)

13.5 Decision to be notified As soon as the toss is completed, the captain of the side winning the toss shall decide whether to bat or to field and shall notify the opposing captain and the umpires of this decision. Once notified, the decision cannot be changed.

2. A (no result)

13.7.2.2.3 To constitute a match, a minimum of 20 overs have to be bowled to the team batting second subject to a result not being achieved earlier.

3. B (no ball)

27.3 Position of wicket-keeper

27.3.1 The wicket-keeper shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the moment the ball comes into play until a ball delivered by the bowler touches the bat or person of the striker or
passes the wicket at the striker’s end or
the striker attempts a run.

27.3.2 In the event of the wicket-keeper contravening this Law, the striker’s end umpire shall call and signal No ball as soon as applicable after the delivery of the ball.

4. B (No)

SUPER OVER: The bowler who bowled the over in the previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bowl the over in the subsequent Super Over

5. C (1.5 minutes)

40.1.1 After the fall of a wicket or the retirement of a batsman, the incoming batsman must,unless Time has been called, be in position to take guard or for the other batsman tobe ready to receive the next ball within 1minute30 seconds of the dismissal or retirement. If thisrequirement is not met, the incoming batsman will be out, Timed out.

6. A (out caught)

Furthermore, a catch will be fair if any of the following conditions applies:

33.2.2.2 a fielder catches the ball after it has been lawfully struck more than once by the striker, but only if it has not been grounded since it was first struck.

7. C (obstructing the field)

34.3 Ball lawfully struck more than once: The striker may, solely in order to guard his wicket and before the ball has been touched by a fielder, lawfully strike the ball a second or subsequent time with the bat, or with any part of his person other than a hand not holding the bat.The striker may guard his wicket even if the delivery is a No ball.

However, the striker may not prevent the ball from being caught by striking the ball more than once in defence of his wicket.

8. C (5, ball not counted).

MCC 28.2.3 If a fielder illegally fields the ball, the ball shall immediately become dead and - any runs completed by the batsmen shall be credited to the batting side, together with the run in progress if the batsmen had already crossed at the instant of the offence.

- the ball shall not count as one of the over.

In addition the umpire shall award 5 Penalty runs to the batting side.

9. D (9)

10. C (No Ball, nobody is out)

41.16 Non-striker leaving his ground early. If the non-striker is out of hisground from the moment the ball comes into play to the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the bowler is permitted to attempt to run him out. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one in the over. If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as possible.

21.6 Bowler breaking wicket in delivering ball Either umpire shall call and signal No ball if, other than in an attempt to run out the non-striker under clause 41.16, the bowler breaks the wicket at any time after the ball comes into play and before completion of the stride after the delivery stride. This shall include any clothing or other object that falls from his person and breaks the wicket.

ALSO WATCH: Laws of Cricket Challenge with Parthiv Patel

ALSO WATCH: Laws of Cricket Challenge With Varun Aaron

ALSO WATCH: Laws of Cricket Challenge with K Gowtham

ALSO WATCH: Laws of Cricket Challenge with Jaydev Unadkat

ALSO WATCH: Laws of Cricket Challenge with Abhinav Mukund

ALSO WATCH: Laws of Cricket Challenge with Abhimanyu Mithun

ALSO WATCH: Laws of Cricket Challenge with R Sridhar

PS: Laws of cricket is often a matter of interpretation by the umpires. We hope we've got them right in this quiz. If not, please let it go as a dubious/bad decision by the umpire! After all, the umpire's decision is final.